Soft Molasses Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
I like thse very much. I prefer the lighter molasses flavor. Easy to mix up quickly and drop onto cookie sheets. They are plain-looking, but very tasty! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Indiana Peggy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
These turned out delicious! I made them with full flavor molasses. Used 1/2 cup instead of the 1/3 cup. I used 2 tsp cinnamon and I didn't have sour cream so I used what I had, 3/4 cup skim milk and 1 tbsp vinegar, let it sit while i mixed the rest of the ingredients. turned out fine! I iced them with some confectioner's sugar and milk! Will definatly make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jAMiE renee`

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Martinsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Klucy09
Reviewed: May 30, 2012
These are fantastic!! I also took suggestions from others....3 1/4cup flour...2/3+ cup molasses....1tsp baking soda, 1tsp baking powder....a bit more ginger and cinnamon...just about 1/2 tsp of nutmeg and allspice....I used 1 cup of dark brown sugar...no white....and used 1/2cup shortening and 1/2cup butter....rolled them in white sugar before placing them on a baking stone...baked at 350 for about 10 minutes...then took the suggestion to gently flatten them at this point...bake for an additional 3-5 min....I also chilled the dough in the freezer...much easier to mold...turned out beautifully....and taste amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
These cookies were delicious! But I have gluten and casein intolerance, so I used buckwheat in place of wheat, olive oil in place of butter, and yogurt in place of sour cream (for some people like me yogurt is easier to digest than sour cream). These cookies were easy and AWSOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
These are tasty but they are not rich in molasses flavor. They do not taste like the traditional kind. The texture is cake like for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
I added 1/2 cup of additional molasses and a 1/2 cup of additional flour. The cookies turned out moist and soft and so delicious. Love this recipe and will be using it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon Raines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
iam from the countryside in egypt and i go mad each time i read a recipe saying cookie dough or cookie mix or whatnot i thought this recipe would be easy enough to make and it was..its extremely delicious too ..the cookies were so light and soft..seemed bit too sweet to eat alone though..by the way ..u can substitute baking powder with baking soda its the same..i greased the sheets so cookies lost a bit of its shape but remained sweet though..am definitely goona make alot of soft cookies from now on
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
I used 1/2 brown, 1/2 white, but I think I should have added more brown, because they aren't too sweet. I also added more spice then in the recipe. After you roll them in ball if you smash them down an top them with powdered sugar they turn out much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Monique C.
Reviewed: May 29, 2008
Came out great! I increased the amount of spices a bit (another 1/2 tsp. or so), and also added some ground nutmeg and ground cloves. Next time I'll try splitting the sugars with white and brown like some others suggested. Brought a batch to work and everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monique C.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2008
Excellent and easy! I changed the flour to 2 3/4 cups and changed the molasses to 1/2 cup. I sprinkled sugar on them before baking and didn't glaze them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Garden Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States