Soft Molasses Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
These cookies were amazing. I made a few changes based on some other reviews... increased cinnamin to 2 tsp and increased the molasses to 1/2 c. Also used 1/2 c. white and 1/2 c. br sugar. The resulting cookie was soft, had excellent flavor and tasted great iced with caramel frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
wow+++++ amazing cookies... i did increase the molasse and cinnamon and also used 1/2 c white and 1/2 c brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ann

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2007
Great Recipe, I agree with changing the 1 tsp of Cinnamon to 2 tsp, much more flavor and I used just under 1/2 cup of molasses. Becel Margarine rather than butter. Very soft, chewy and delicious cookies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
I used 1/2 brown, 1/2 white, but I think I should have added more brown, because they aren't too sweet. I also added more spice then in the recipe. After you roll them in ball if you smash them down an top them with powdered sugar they turn out much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Monique C.
Reviewed: May 29, 2008
Came out great! I increased the amount of spices a bit (another 1/2 tsp. or so), and also added some ground nutmeg and ground cloves. Next time I'll try splitting the sugars with white and brown like some others suggested. Brought a batch to work and everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monique C.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
iam from the countryside in egypt and i go mad each time i read a recipe saying cookie dough or cookie mix or whatnot i thought this recipe would be easy enough to make and it was..its extremely delicious too ..the cookies were so light and soft..seemed bit too sweet to eat alone though..by the way ..u can substitute baking powder with baking soda its the same..i greased the sheets so cookies lost a bit of its shape but remained sweet though..am definitely goona make alot of soft cookies from now on
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
I do like these cookies very much, but I gave the recipe only three stars because they aren't chewy and they don't taste of molasses. They are more like snickerdoodles (I sprinkled granulated sugar on top of the cookies before and after baking and that improved them). The texture is very light and soft, which I do like, but it's not the molasses cookie heaviness I'm used to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2004
This had good flavor-texture soft and cake-like. I added chopped pecans to the second batch-better taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2004
This recipe was disappointing. The final result was a salty, cakey cookie, with none of the right flavors (or much flavor at all, for that matter). I am, as I type this, trying to figure out what to put in the remaining batter to make it taste better. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2004
These were really good. Some modifications...I reduced the molasses to 1/2 cup (it was all I had), and added 1/4 cup sour cream. I also used brown sugar, instead of white...to make a softer cookie. My kids are loving them as I type! I will make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richibucto, New Brunswick, Canada
Living In: Peace River, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States