Soft Molasses Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2004
Good cookie, different from what your used to in the store. Much more of a mild flavor. I found the secret to overcoming the cake-like texture.....Take cookies out of the oven just a minute or two early, lightly tap the cookie flat again (I just used a spatula). Finish baking cookies. I also baked them at 350 instead of 375, and took out just BEFORE they were thoroughly baked. I baked them on a baking stone and left them on the stone until cooled. Since the stone retains heat, they slowly finished baking on the stone. Great texture..... This technique seemed to make them a little more chewey. Hope that helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2004
I didn't have any sour cream so I used the evaporated milk and vinegar substitution mentioned. I was a bit worried about the texture of the mix as I spooned it onto the baking sheet. Very smooth and kinda runny. I didn't have high hopes for how they'd turn out - but they cooked up just fine. Not quite the texture/consistency I was looking for though once baked. The kids didn't seem to mind however, so i'll probably make them agian for them -since they are so simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calais, Maine, USA
Living In: Norway, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2004
This recipe was disappointing. The final result was a salty, cakey cookie, with none of the right flavors (or much flavor at all, for that matter). I am, as I type this, trying to figure out what to put in the remaining batter to make it taste better. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2004
These were really good. Some modifications...I reduced the molasses to 1/2 cup (it was all I had), and added 1/4 cup sour cream. I also used brown sugar, instead of white...to make a softer cookie. My kids are loving them as I type! I will make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richibucto, New Brunswick, Canada
Living In: Peace River, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2004
I liked these, but they were more like mini-cakes than cookies. I rated them only 3 stars because I like to eat cookie dough, and I didn't like the dough, but the cookies were actually good. I wish they were more chewy than cakey. Not a bad recipe, just not what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2002
It didn't have enough molasses flavor, and was not sweet enough. I added 1/3 cup sugar to the final batter and made thinner cookies to make it taste better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2001
Good recipe, very light, soft and cake-like. Would have liked more molasses flavor. Maybe a stronger molassed next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2001
I made this for an event at work and received several complements and requests for the recipe. It won my pick because it didn't require an overnight chill. Even my mom, a wonderful cook, asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2001
This recipe was a bit more cake-y thank I prefer. If you choose to make it, use a full-flavored molasses or you won't taste it at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2000
I baked these for a cookie swap at work. Since I don't bake very often and am not known for my culinary skills, people were surprised at just how good they were. I found this recipe easy to follow and quick....a gem in the hectic holiday season. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States