Soft Molasses Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by pholtey
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
This is the molasses cookie recipe of my many molasses cookie dreams. High altitude: left out cold water; substituted dark brown sugar, rolling in light brown. Sub butter for shortning so left out salt. Wish I added more raisins! Yummy!! Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2001
Great recipe. My kids love this cookie. I find that chilling the dough for an hour or two makes it easier to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
I did not care for these cookies. Followed the recipe to the letter. I have been searching for a good chewy molasses cookie, and read the reviews. Thought this looked promising. Hesitated strongly at 2 tsp of baking soda for 2 1/4 cups flour, but none of the reviews mentioned an off taste. Ours tasted STRONGLY of baking soda. If I were to make them again, I would use 1 tsp baking powder and 1/2 tsp baking soda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Smith, Arkansas, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
These were great cookies! Moist, and delicious! And they had a beautiful appearance too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iluvlemon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Clemente, California, USA
Living In: Springville, California, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2008
these are delicious! Soft, and chewy! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISTALEE5

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2006
Good, but a little strong. Probably my fault because I used dark molasses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
I thought these turned out good. Of course I did tweek them a little. I added 1 cup brown sugar,2 teaspoons cinnamom and only 1/2 teaspoon ginger. I did roll them in sugar before baking.Next time i will use a darker molasses,then it will be more like my mom used to make. i will be maing these again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
These are a cookie. That is all I can say. Not much flavor. 400 degrees! I should have used my own head. TOO HOT! Even at 9 minutes they were too dark and the bottom dark dark brown if not black. I will not be making these again. Sorry I wasted my time and ingredients
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NICKI61

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wolcott, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
Love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2005
Not a very sweet cookie, but still a really great taste. I love the walnut/molasses combination!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Meidinger

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Ashley, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States