Soft Mahi Mahi Tacos with Ginger-Lime Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
Wonderful recipe! I put red onions into the salsa that added a nice kick, as well as a second jalapeño. The dressing was delicious...some extra cumin gives it a some good spice. This was fast and easy to make, and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
I just got back from a trip to Hawaii and was craving a fish taco like the one I had at a restaurant there. This comes VERY close...but without the view of the ocean! I even used a frozen mix of pineapple, mango, and papaya and it turned out lovely. Also, I didn't have mahi mahi, so used tilapia instead. This is a softer fish -- it tasted good, but the mahi mahi would have held up better. Still, a great tropical meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
I absolutely loved this, and it's super easy! I didn't have time to make fresh salsa, so I used a good quality salsa and just added fresh mango. It was quite good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
Very good and tasty. Next time though I might do without the s.c sauce. Was sort of bitter compared to the rest of the taco...but overall...excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
The ginger lime dressing is delicious, and could go with just about any fish taco, not just mahi mahi. I replaced the salsa recipe with my own, because I prefer tomatoes to avacadoes. Also, shredded cheese on the tacos is a good compliment. I would recommend adding shredded lettuce, beans, or rice to the taco in order to give it body. Even with liberal servings, just the fish and the topping doesn't do it for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wahiawa Mike

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Wahiawa, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
Someone gave us some Mahi Mahi and I wasn't sure what to do with it, but found this recipe. Mangos aren't in season here in Puerto Rico, right now, so I left them out. Both the sauce and the salsa were still amazing! I recommend fresh pineapple because the acids preserve the color of the avocado and add a bit of sweet bite better than canned would. I will definitely make this again. We served it with you-bake tortillas from Costco. DELICIOUS! Who knew I'd like fish tacos?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Campbell Aley

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
The family ooo-ed and ahhh-ed over this one and claimed the recipe was a keeper! The flavors blend nicely: it's just the right amount of sweet, creamy, savory, and heat. I was even complimented on how the textures blended so well. The only complaint was that the ginger sauce ran out too soon. Next time I'd probably make 4 times as much, since we have some big eaters here. This would probably also be great with pork or chicken too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LMF443

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
"THe best fish taco i've ever had" says the boyfriend. It really was delicious. I was tempted to add more seasoning to the fish, but didn't (glad I didn't). Tempted to skip the sour cream sauce (really glad I didn't). If you taste it on it's own, the sauce may seem a little out of place... but it pairs so nicely with the salsa - I wouldn't skip it ever! And about the salsa, I added some red onion, mainly for color but also flavor. It was ok. I added some lime juice and salt and pepper...ba-bam! It was so good, I had to get rid of the spoon so I'd stop eating it before the fish was ready! Skipped the cilantro because BF doesn't like it, but I didn't miss it. I am looking forward to making them again!! This was a real winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
These turned out really well. I made them as directed, but ended up really increasing the heat and flavor of the sauce and the salsa towards the end. I think a green taco sauce would be excellent with this to counter the sweetness, in addition to the ginger-lime dressing and fruit salsa. I added red cabbage to our tacos for texture. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
So good! I added a lot of extra ginger and used store bought mango salsa since I already had it. The sour cream sauce is awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Nelson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Fish Tacos with Chipotle Lime Dressing

Tilapia filets turn into tasty fish tacos with a tangy adobo and lime dressing.

Lime Chicken Soft Tacos

Check out these lime flavored chicken soft tacos.

Baja Fish Tacos

See how to make marinated fish tacos on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States