Soft Mahi Mahi Tacos with Ginger-Lime Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by jrbaker
Reviewed: May 5, 2012
I loved the freshness of this recipe, and the ginger-lime dressing adds an incredible depth of flavor to the salsa. Next time, I would add chopped red pepper and red onion to the salsa for more color and flavor. The only change I made was to use soft white corn tortillas, which we prefer. Thanks for a unique and fun recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
So good. Nice tropical flavour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
This was a great recipe! I can't give it 5 stars because I changed some things.... I couldn't get fresh mahi mahi, so I subbed tilapia. I used plain yogurt instead of the sour cream (hubby hates sour cream) and I omitted the jalepeno and cilantro. The flavors of the fruits and avacado paired nicely with the fish and the ginger/lime flavors of the dressing. This is a recipe I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
we made these with battered fish fillets. They were sooooo good. Even my kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
This is sooo good! The only thing I changed was omitting the jalapeno for the kiddos and substituting canned pineapple. It has a bold, unique flavor. If you've never had fish tacos or think they sound gross, this is a great recipe to start with. These will be a regular when I find Mahi on sale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
Delicious and fresh taste! Nice to find a recipe that focuses on fresh ingredients and doesn't rely on processed stuff. I just added a little sweet onion to the salsa and put the cilantro in it as well. My husband and I both enjoyed them and will again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plainfield, Indiana, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
I am not a big ginger fan so I made this without. Also, I subbed kiwis instead of pineapple (since I have a pineapple allergy). The kiwis were amazing with the mango and avocado! This is a fairly sweet dish but the cayenne pepper and jalapenos balance the flavors nicely. Don't skip the cilantro with this dish! Great meal for a hot summer night... very fresh and light.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SuperVern

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
Wow - this was an experience! Since the recipe said the fish only needed to cook 3 min on each side, I decided to start with the sauces first so I wouldn't get distracted. I have a tiny kitchen and a big family. Mango Salsa - apparently I got ahold of a "Super Jalapeno" pepper because the salsa was ON FIRE by the time I got done mixing it. My eyes were watering so bad I had to take a break so I could read the rest of the recipe. To calm it down, I added a can of corn and a can of black beans - both drained. Then I mixed up the white sauce, double batch, using fat-free yogurt instead of sour cream. I left out the cayenne pepper because I could still feel the jalapeno burn. Then came the interesting venture of cooking the fish. I couldn't find Mahi Mahi in my store, so I grabbed Talepia. I put it in the pan with a sprinkle of olive oil, a dash of sea salt, and a sprinkle of lemon pepper. 3 min on each side was ok, until it started breaking apart but I could still see red in the middle. So, through sheer accident, it turned into something like a fish stir fry in the pan when I tried to turn it over. I added a little more seasoning and oil and went ahead with the stir fry experiment. It was YUMMY!! VERY messy, but yummy! It was a tasty mess, but I have one unsolved question - I have washed my hands a zillion times and the jalapeno oil on my fingers is still burning every body part I touch. Anyone know how to kill the burn???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah McCarthy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middleton, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
these are great. I used tilapia since that is what we had on hand/one of the few kinds of fish my husband likes. A couple minor changes based on what I had on hand...but I don't think it changes things a whole lot. I had tons of homegrown tomatoes on hand and a salsa just needs a tomato to me...so in one went. And I had just made my avacados into guacamole the day before so I subsituted a cup+ of the guac (non sour cream based one which has red pepper flakes in it) for the avacado and jalepeno pepper. addendum: I had leftover lime/sour cream....found an awesome use for that too. I had a squash soup that came out a tad bland. I added a swirl of the leftover lime cream and it really improved the squash soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
These were easy and delicious! I think that adding a little bit of cabbage for a little crunch would be the only thing I'd do differently next time. I'll definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Grilled Fish Tacos with Chipotle Lime Dressing

Tilapia filets turn into tasty fish tacos with a tangy adobo and lime dressing.

Lime Chicken Soft Tacos

Check out these lime flavored chicken soft tacos.

Baja Fish Tacos

See how to make marinated fish tacos on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States