Soft Gingersnaps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
What a find! I'm glad to be the first reviewer of this recipe so that I can bring this now formally initiated recipe to your attention with my 5-star review! I don't generally like teeny cookies but these are SERIOUSLY adorable. The dough is easy to work with and the cookies come out of the oven perfectly round with those cute little cracks we love in gingersnaps. I prepared the recipe as is, save for adding a quarter teaspoon of salt to heighten flavor, and I'm not even so sure that made a noticeable difference. I also used the more traditional method of creaming the sugar and shortening, adding the egg and molasses, then adding ALL of the combined dry ingredients. All brown sugar all but guarantees these will be as soft as their name says they will be, and the spice is just right. They're not just good, they're "D" good. No wonder the submitter's friends ask her for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
When I made these cookies, I beat together the shortening and the sugar together until fluffy, then beat in the eggs and molasses and added the dry ingredients. I did add a half teaspoon of salt when I added the dry ingredients. I LOVED that this dough was ready to go, it did not need to be chilled at all, probably due to the recipe using shortening. My cookies were done at just over nine minutes. I pulled them off the sheet to cool on the countertop and they turned out absolutely perfect.....like bakery spice cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
This recipe is really delicious! I would suggest adding 1/4 tsp of salt to bring out the flavours a little bit more, and make sure you flatten the cookies well before baking as they keep their ball shape otherwise. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2013
I think these may now be my favorite cookies...they are sooo good!! They came out lightly crispy on the ousite, soft and chewy on the inside. They had such a good flavor and easy to make. I used real butter instead of shortening, which I softened first, and added 1/4 tsp. of salt along with an extra pinch or two of cinnamon, cloves, and ginger. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMMSEJS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
sorry, I followed the recipe and I have crisp cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
These have a great flavor, and they spread out from balls perfectly (I don't know why the other reviewer's would have stayed as balls). The only issue I had, which really isn't an issue, is that they weren't soft. They came out nice and pillowy from the oven, but they flattened out as they cooled. By the time they were room temperature, they weren't *hard* but they were still far from soft. But, like I said, they had a good flavor, and I would make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
These were wonderful! I use the creaming sugar/shortening method and they came out perfectly! Loved these, will make again! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joelle B.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2013
The only thing I changed was to use 1/2 cup butter and 1/4 cup shortening, but I left the rest of the recipe the same. These cookies are wonderful!! I baked them for 8 minutes and they came out perfect. Just barely crunchy on the edges and soft on the inside. The spice ratio was dead on too. I used my cookie scoop and droped the balls into the sugar to coat then put them on parchment paper. They flattened out just enough. I got exactly 3 dozen cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vatech90

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fishersville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
Brilliant! I took these to my work's Christmas party and got rave reviews. I didn't have ground cloves, so I used nutmeg instead. I've made this recipe twice now and it's definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
I just made these and OMGosh!! They are amazing! Soft, wonderfully flavorful, delicious!! I followed some of the other reviews and creamed my shortening and sugar, then added the molasses and egg followed by all the dry ingredients. Didn't change any of the measurements and they came out perfect! This recipe is a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Soft Sugar Cookies IV

These addictive cookies are soft and just right for decorating.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States