Soft Gingersnaps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
My 15 yr old son made these for the family....they were amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
What a find! I'm glad to be the first reviewer of this recipe so that I can bring this now formally initiated recipe to your attention with my 5-star review! I don't generally like teeny cookies but these are SERIOUSLY adorable. The dough is easy to work with and the cookies come out of the oven perfectly round with those cute little cracks we love in gingersnaps. I prepared the recipe as is, save for adding a quarter teaspoon of salt to heighten flavor, and I'm not even so sure that made a noticeable difference. I also used the more traditional method of creaming the sugar and shortening, adding the egg and molasses, then adding ALL of the combined dry ingredients. All brown sugar all but guarantees these will be as soft as their name says they will be, and the spice is just right. They're not just good, they're "D" good. No wonder the submitter's friends ask her for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
This recipe is really delicious! I would suggest adding 1/4 tsp of salt to bring out the flavours a little bit more, and make sure you flatten the cookies well before baking as they keep their ball shape otherwise. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
When I made these cookies, I beat together the shortening and the sugar together until fluffy, then beat in the eggs and molasses and added the dry ingredients. I did add a half teaspoon of salt when I added the dry ingredients. I LOVED that this dough was ready to go, it did not need to be chilled at all, probably due to the recipe using shortening. My cookies were done at just over nine minutes. I pulled them off the sheet to cool on the countertop and they turned out absolutely perfect.....like bakery spice cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
It made perfect ginger snaps! I'm terrible at making cookies properly the first try and I managed to make these. I made some minor adjustments for my family`s taste by not using cloves and using all spice and I used an additional tsp of cinnamon. If you like soft gingerbread men like my little ones do, you can roll the dough and cut it with ease. I made 36 ginger snaps and 12 small gingerbread men with this. The serving size is a bit off, just the ginger snaps at the recommended rolling size would have easily made 48+.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
Brilliant! I took these to my work's Christmas party and got rave reviews. I didn't have ground cloves, so I used nutmeg instead. I've made this recipe twice now and it's definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Delicious cookies! I've made these for a Christmas party and my grandchildren and they were a big hit. I mixed together the ingredients a little differently however. I creamed together the brown sugar and shortening first, then added the molasses and egg. Finally, I mixed the dry ingredients in another bowl and then added them to the wet mixture and blended together. The dough is easy to handle, not sticky! The only problem is you'll want to eat too many!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
Delicious!!! I added more ginger, for a bit more spice. These were a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by American

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
I substituted butter/margarine for shortening. They were delicious and soft. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
These cookies are amazing. I did add a little salt and vanilla. To me every cookie recipe should have vanilla. It just enhances the flavor. It's a lot easier if you cream the butter than add the sugar, egg, molasses than the dry ingredients than the way the recipe says to do it. These cookies are so soft. Just delicious. I'm giving it 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Soft Sugar Cookies IV

These addictive cookies are soft and just right for decorating.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States