Soft Gingersnaps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
What a find! I'm glad to be the first reviewer of this recipe so that I can bring this now formally initiated recipe to your attention with my 5-star review! I don't generally like teeny cookies but these are SERIOUSLY adorable. The dough is easy to work with and the cookies come out of the oven perfectly round with those cute little cracks we love in gingersnaps. I prepared the recipe as is, save for adding a quarter teaspoon of salt to heighten flavor, and I'm not even so sure that made a noticeable difference. I also used the more traditional method of creaming the sugar and shortening, adding the egg and molasses, then adding ALL of the combined dry ingredients. All brown sugar all but guarantees these will be as soft as their name says they will be, and the spice is just right. They're not just good, they're "D" good. No wonder the submitter's friends ask her for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
When I made these cookies, I beat together the shortening and the sugar together until fluffy, then beat in the eggs and molasses and added the dry ingredients. I did add a half teaspoon of salt when I added the dry ingredients. I LOVED that this dough was ready to go, it did not need to be chilled at all, probably due to the recipe using shortening. My cookies were done at just over nine minutes. I pulled them off the sheet to cool on the countertop and they turned out absolutely perfect.....like bakery spice cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
This recipe is really delicious! I would suggest adding 1/4 tsp of salt to bring out the flavours a little bit more, and make sure you flatten the cookies well before baking as they keep their ball shape otherwise. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2013
I think these may now be my favorite cookies...they are sooo good!! They came out lightly crispy on the ousite, soft and chewy on the inside. They had such a good flavor and easy to make. I used real butter instead of shortening, which I softened first, and added 1/4 tsp. of salt along with an extra pinch or two of cinnamon, cloves, and ginger. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMMSEJS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
These have a great flavor, and they spread out from balls perfectly (I don't know why the other reviewer's would have stayed as balls). The only issue I had, which really isn't an issue, is that they weren't soft. They came out nice and pillowy from the oven, but they flattened out as they cooled. By the time they were room temperature, they weren't *hard* but they were still far from soft. But, like I said, they had a good flavor, and I would make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
sorry, I followed the recipe and I have crisp cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2013
The only thing I changed was to use 1/2 cup butter and 1/4 cup shortening, but I left the rest of the recipe the same. These cookies are wonderful!! I baked them for 8 minutes and they came out perfect. Just barely crunchy on the edges and soft on the inside. The spice ratio was dead on too. I used my cookie scoop and droped the balls into the sugar to coat then put them on parchment paper. They flattened out just enough. I got exactly 3 dozen cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vatech90

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fishersville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
I don't write reviews as a rule because it's really so subjective but Ginger cookies are my husbands favorite and I decided to try this recipe because my tried and true one involves melting butter, mixing with molasses and getting it to room temp. Lot of work and I didn't have the time. These were wonderful! my only changes were bumping the ginger to 1 1/2 teas, just a pinch of clove, and a dash of salt as others have said. They were perfect and made the kitchen smell real old school and cozy. If your oven temp is true, you bake at the low end of the range (8 mins), use parchment paper, and measure correctly, it should not be crumbly dough or be crispy throughout after baking. I'd check things out, measure exactly and try again. I believe they are worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
They are not soft, the dough is like graham cracker crumbs so you can't even form balls to bake. Not impressed and neither is my 3 year old who had the patience to make them with me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
My husband loved them. I also added a pinch of salt after reading a lot of reviews. I used butter not shortening. If you have health issues like myself, I would never use shortening in anything. Beat the butter (or shortening) with the sugar's until fluffy, then beat in the eggs and molasses. I cook and bake often and the thing that did get me a little confused is how they separated the flour and why? I will make these again. Wish I knew how to post a picture, but they look just like the recipe picture shows. Soft and yummy cookies. Just an additional comment here--I see they want to know if you tweaked the recipe at all and want you to pay a membership to tell them what you did. Hmmmm, seems to me if a person tweak's it to make it better why would a person want to pay to share it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Sugar Cookies IV

These addictive cookies are soft and just right for decorating.

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States