Soft Gingerbread Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
These gingerbread cookies are excellent! I was looking for a softer cookie and this is it. I did not read any of the reviews before I made these, because I found them in my Allrecipe cookie cookbook and not on this site. I followed the recipe exactly and they turned out great. The only problem I had was when I was trying to get them off the cookie sheet--they were stuck, but came off with a thin spatula. I found that it was easier to get them off right after I took them out of the oven. To the reviewers who complained about these not being soft--gingerbread is different than other cookies. Normally it is dry and hard, these are soft and do not crunch when you bite into them. If yours came out hard, try putting them into a lock-n-lock plastic container for a few days. Gingerbread needs time, that's why in Europe it is made weeks before Christmas. I love the taste of these as well--they are not supposed to be sweet like many other American cookies. All in all, these were wonderful and I had no problems making them aside for the little problem mentioned above. I decorated mine with sliced almonds, walnut halves and raisins before I baked them and they look beautiful. I am going to hang some of them on my tree. Thank you for a wonderful recipe, Sara.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Trencín, Trenciansky Kraj, Slovakia
Living In: Farmington, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
After following the recipe exactly and cooling the so called dough for almost 3.5 hours it was crumbly and no where near ready to be rolled. I added almost another cup of water before it became rollable... all in all they tasted horrible and took way to long to make- this is not a good recipe at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
This was the worst ever. I followed the directions exactly and the dough came out sticky and soft, even after I had refrigerated it. I was really disappointed because I couldn't cut out Gingerbread men, and now I'll have to bring something else to the party. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amnisiades

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
The alternating reviews going from one star to four stars over and over had me intrigued enough to try this recipe. I upped the health quotient and the flavor by using some of the tips in past reviews. I used 1/2 whole wheat flour 1/2 all-purpose flour, about 1/4 c brown sugar and 1/4 c Splenda, I only had blackstrap molasses (good source of iron!), and I doubled all the spices except cloves. My cookies are soft and de-e-e-e-elicious! I had frozen some, and I just ate one straight out of the freezer - they're even good (and still soft!) that way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
I AM professional baker, and I am embarrassed that I didn't see this coming. I ignored the bad reviews and went with this recipe anyway. I wasted money and time making these HORRID cookies! Dry, tough, and tasteless. YUCK!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
Outstanding recipe. If you are looking for a soft gingerbread cookie you must try this one. Just made it for the first time, followed the recipe exactly, I have no idea why some others reported problems with the texture or dough consistency. Use soft (NOT melted butter), measure flour accurately and mix completely in your mixer and they turned out exactly as I thought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
I made these cookies with my daughter and they turned out perfect! I did use the tip off another review to roll the dough between two sheets of wax paper with a little flour sprinkled on the paper. It was so easy and the cookies are delicious!!! We also had fun making some x-mas ornaments out of some of the cookies. We just cooked those a little longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
By far the best recipe I've ever used for gingerbread cookies. The dough was easy to work with and the cookies are delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
These cookies were THE best gingerbread cookies I've ever tasted! Everyone loved them and they were gone in a day! Thanks for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
This is a keeper! I followed this recipe exactly, and the cookies were sturdy enough for my three year old and her 2 1/2 year old friend to decorate (only three broke out of the whole batch). They were still chewy a few days later. They were a bit spicy, but that's what I expect in gingerbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States