Soft Gingerbread Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
These are the driest, most flavorless gingerbread cookies ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
This is a great recipe! This is the second year in a row I'm using it. If you want them to be soft, make sure not to roll your dough too thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
Trying this recipe.... Let it chill for 24 hrs because 3 hrs did nothing, but 24 hrs didn't do jack either. This is almost like soup and I followed the recipe EXACTLY! I bake all the time and never had problems like this. Itheres no way I can roll this dough out, I'd be lucky to be able to make drop cookies!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
These gingerbread cookies were kid friendly, tasted good, and were definitely soft - they didn't get crunchy Yay! I just had to find my own frosting recipe. They are not strong flavored, so those of you who don't want a spicy cookie these are great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by carolinateacher
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
This is the best basic soft gingerbread recipe out there. Very simple directions, I refrigerate my dough about 2 hours and it works better. I also like a stronger ginger/spice flavor, so I add more ginger and cloves to the recipe and it helps as this one is very mild made according to the recipe. I love this recipe though and so do everyone I make them for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
It worked for me! I followed the recipe, with a few adjustments. I substituted half the flour with whole wheat pastry, and instead of rolling out and cutting, I rolled a ball of dough between my palms, flattened it a little, then put on the cookie sheet. It puffed up, it spread a little, it didn't flatten out. The taste was mild, flavorful, not overly sweet. I did try making half the batch rolled in cinnamon sugar before baking and liked that a bit better. I also found I needed to cook them about 3-5 minutes longer. They tasted doughy and undercooked at the timing on the recipe. I agree with people who said they expect to have to adjust recipes a little sometimes. To me, that's a normal aspect of any work of art or craft, especially baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
I've been looking for a new recipe to try this Fall and my husband has been on my case about trying Gingerbread this year. I have never made it until last night. These cookies are to die for. I did change the recipe a little. When mixing the dough, I added 1 or 2 tablespoon of water to make the dough softer and easier to roll, I also adjusted the flour. I took the 1/4 cup out and just used 3 cups. They didn't taste floury at all and they were soft and didn't break easily either. This'll be my come to Fall recipe for now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie B.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
They were soft as the title suggested but I was disappointed in the flavor. I won't make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by littlemissmuffin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by HJack
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
Great recipe! I didn't alter a thing and enjoyed the mild flavor of the cookies. Add a bit of royal icing as decoration and you'll have all the sweetness you need. The dough will be crumbly. Just be firm with it! Get your hands in there, use plenty of flour on your work surface, and roll until smooth. The cookies still had their softness on day 4, which is a win in my book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
These did not work out! I had to add about 1/2 cup more water to the dough to make it stick together, and when I baked them (for 8 min.) they all got huge! Since they were so big they weren't done in the middle, so they didn't taste very good. They may have turned out better if I had baked them longer, but I would not make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States