Soft Gingerbread Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2007
Awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
As many have noted, these cookies are not very sweet at all. I wish I had read them beforehand, but I was under a deadline so I just jumped in. These cookies are bland as sand, with a texture about as good. Ended up throwing them all away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
This recipe was excellent! Very tasteful even without the frosting (of course they are excellent with frosting too!). My husband who does not like gingerbread cookies actually liked these. My son and his friends all loved them too! The cookies aren't that sweet (which is exactly the way our family like) but very flavorful, soft and moist. The only changes I made were adding 1.5x of ginger than stated. Dough was bit hard to work with, but it is worth it!!!! Thanks for sharing this recipe... this will be our Christmas trandition :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
This recipe was fantastic. My husband, who doesn't like anything without chocolate in it, loved these cookies. I did tweek the recipe a bit though. I did not use cloves and I used 1 tsp. cinnamon, 1 tsp. allspice and 2 tsps. ginger. This gave them a little more flavor, in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SUGARPLUMSCOOKIES
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
I've been looking for a soft, puffy gingerbread recipe for years. I bake a lot and try pretty much every gingerbread recipe I can find. This was pretty good, but didn't stay soft once it cooled. It did puff up when it was in the oven, but flattened again before it finished baking. It tasted really good and it kept it's shape really well, so it's definitely a good recipe, just not the best. By the way, this is much easier to work with if you roll the dough between two sheets of wax paper, loosen the paper on both sides, and then cut out with cutters. This way, you don't need excess flour which can toughen the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
194 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUGARPLUMSCOOKIES

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
These are the first gingerbread cookies I've baked, and I was very pleased with the results. The dough was a little difficult to work with, and I found it had to be very cold or it would soften too much and not be easy to cut out. Some of my batches turned out a little crispy so I had to watch the baking time very carefully, or they would over cook. There is a fine line between soft and crunchy with these cookies! The cookies turned out nice when baked properly, though. Nice, soft texture and good flavor. They didn't puff too much and retained their shape very well. We decorated using a butter cream icing and they tasted great! I'm making them again for our Christmas party this weekend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
These gingerbread cookies are fabulous! Takes a little patience and time with the refriderating and rolling out the dough. Takes me back when I rolled out biscuits with my Mom. They are soft and delicious cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
Fantastic! These are great! I did double the spices, and I left it in the fridge for about 6 hours! Wonderful, soft, and spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AOSWALT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Craig, Missouri, USA
Living In: Burr, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
WoW. These are quite possibly the worst cookies I have ever made. I learned a valuable lesson however - never triple a recipe you've never tried to before, no matter how 'Christmas-rushed' you may be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
These tasted like baked paste and the gingerbread men came out looking bloated instead of holding their shape.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEEMEEBULUGA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States