Soft Gingerbread Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
I was looking for a soft gingerbread man cookie recipe and decided to go with this even though some had given it poor ratings. Taking these low ratings into consideration, I made these cookies exactly as indicated using leveled measurements on the ingredients. The flavor and sweetness level were mild but not bland--actually--just perfect for my taste buds, epecially since the icing would kick the sugar rush another notch. The important element for me was SOFT and I certainly got that. It was a beautiful thing. Know that I am not an "expert" baker/cook and I have a habit of altering recipes so I was glad when I stuck to the recipe on this one and the instructions were not complicated. I found it much easier, as others had recommended, to roll it in between two sheets of parchment paper. I also cut the shapes in place, so I just removed the excess dough and rolled out a new ball. As for time, I have a convection oven and it came out perfectly at 6 minutes on convec bake at my elevation of 6200 ft abve sea level. I will definitely use this agiain!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
I didn't have the spices so i used 1 1/2 tsp. of pumpkin spice seasoning, the taste was weird but most of all the texture was weird it was like rubber. everything but the spices i followed exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
Tried this particular recipe and not impressed. Dry and hard to work with. Ive made gingerbread many times and had better luck with other recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cat Gray

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
This is the first time I made gingerbread cookies. This recipe is SUPER easy and taste great. Follow the recipe exactly and your cookies will be a hit at your next holiday function.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
They don't have flavor and the texture is soft but too dry and crumbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
I did not care for this recipe. I am a baker and I followed the recipe to a tee. I was looking for a chewy cookie, unlike the ones I have made in years gone by. Dough was hard to roll, stiff, not pliable at all. Not sure what happened….all ingredients were fresh as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
This recipe is pretty good. They do come out soft. Don't over cook or they do get stiff and stale like. It a was very kneadable dough. The finished product I think needs a bit more butter and spices in taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
I followed this recipe to a T but I left them in the fridge overnight and brought them out in the morning. I didn't try to roll them out for several hours and when I did, I didn't use ANY flour. They rolled out perfectly!!!!! I would definitely make these again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
I dislike this recipe because this was to dry so i had to add water to it then egg and last more flour and water! I just cant eat anymore of it and it hard after letting it cool!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
These are the driest, most flavorless gingerbread cookies ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States