Soft Gingerbread Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by SUGARPLUMSCOOKIES
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
I've been looking for a soft, puffy gingerbread recipe for years. I bake a lot and try pretty much every gingerbread recipe I can find. This was pretty good, but didn't stay soft once it cooled. It did puff up when it was in the oven, but flattened again before it finished baking. It tasted really good and it kept it's shape really well, so it's definitely a good recipe, just not the best. By the way, this is much easier to work with if you roll the dough between two sheets of wax paper, loosen the paper on both sides, and then cut out with cutters. This way, you don't need excess flour which can toughen the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
184 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUGARPLUMSCOOKIES

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2000
I don't know WHAT any of the negative reviews could possibly be about!!! I found this recipe on here about years ago and have made them EVERY year since. EVERYONE I bring them too loves them. They are not as "harsh" as a typical gingerbread cookie ... softer in texture and milder in taste. Yes, the dough can be a bit hard to roll out but it is WAY worth it for the YUMMIEST gingerbread cookie I've ever had!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
120 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2004
I'm not the most experienced baker, but most things I try for the first time come out good. I followed this recipe to the exact detail and the dough was terribly hard to roll out. It crumbled apart the more you tried. My husband suggested adding a little water but I didn't want to ruin the recipe...so I put a chunk of the dough on my board, sprinkled a tiny bit of water, rolled it out, and then cut a heart cookie. I baked that one to test it, and while the taste itself wasn't bad, the texture was weird. I chilled the rest of the dough overnight thinking maybe the minimum 3 hours wasn't long enough, tried again this morning, and ran into even more difficulty. Granted, this was my first attempt at making gingerbread cookies, but I probably would have had better luck just following the recipe on the bottle of molasses! Sorry to be critical, but that was my experience. I should have read more of the reviews before putting the time and effort into this, since the majority seemed to run into the same problems I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwood, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Stoughton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
Cookies were very good. This is a mild tasting gingerbread cookie. I had to throw the first batch of dough out because it was very dry and wouldn't come together so I cut the flour by 1/4 cup and mixed all the wet ingrediants first than added the dry instead of alternating like the recipe said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
I thought these cookies were quick and easy! The flavor is mild gingerbread with a soft,yet firm texture, which made for easy decorating. I loved them and my kids loved them. We used the decorater's frosting made with butter, milk, vanilla, and powdered sugar found here at allrecipes. That frosting is sweet enough to make the cookies perfect. I don't know why some people had a hard time working with the dough. I divided it in half and rolled it out using flour as needed. Quickly cut them out and baked them. Could not of been more simple. In a nutshell: If you need a quick, easy, yummy gingerbread cookie recipe, this is it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CARONE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2003
i'd rate this a zero if it was available. I followed your so called recipe to the letter,not only was this dough dry but what cookies were able to make it to a cookie sheet were the dryest flatest tasting cookies i ever made. next time get your recipe items correct. i will be sure not to use any of your recipes again!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
As many have noted, these cookies are not very sweet at all. I wish I had read them beforehand, but I was under a deadline so I just jumped in. These cookies are bland as sand, with a texture about as good. Ended up throwing them all away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2001
This recipe is excellent. I did add grated orange peel and substituted honey for molasses to give it more of the Liebkuchen (German gingerbread taste) and it was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2002
This was a really easy recipe. They turn out more 'cakie' than cookie like but delicious. I do not recommend making and decorating with small children... the cookies break really easy and they get upset... funny... kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
i made these cookies for my boyfriend on valentines day. he said they reminded him of something, and when i asked what, he said, "flour."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States