Soft Gingerbread Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
This were pretty yummy, but I had to add an additional 1/4 cup of flour to the mix and use lots of flour on the countertop and dough to cut out cookies. Also, I had to make the cookies pretty thick and cook them for only 7 minutes to get a soft cookie. Otherwise, they were crispy as soon as they cooled. You can microwave them though and they will be soft again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
I agree these so delicious and are low in fat and yummy. I made them as little cookies. I also put 1/2 wheat flour and 1/2 white, and added 6 egg beaters. Then, my children had a tea party with them! Sooo good. I bet you could add a little more flour to make them cut outs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
I don't recommend this recipe to anyone. I wouldn't even give these cookies to neighbors I didn't like. The only thing I could taste when putting them in my mouth was molasses and allspice. They were so bland, icing didn't do them justice. I didn't even finish making them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
I thought these cookies were quick and easy! The flavor is mild gingerbread with a soft,yet firm texture, which made for easy decorating. I loved them and my kids loved them. We used the decorater's frosting made with butter, milk, vanilla, and powdered sugar found here at allrecipes. That frosting is sweet enough to make the cookies perfect. I don't know why some people had a hard time working with the dough. I divided it in half and rolled it out using flour as needed. Quickly cut them out and baked them. Could not of been more simple. In a nutshell: If you need a quick, easy, yummy gingerbread cookie recipe, this is it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CARONE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
These cookies were pretty good and baked up perfectly. I omitted the cloves, added more of the other spices and upped the molassas to 1 c. I also rolled out between waxed paper and had no issues with it sticking. This is a good mild tasting cookie, good for people who don't like to spicey of a flavor (like kids).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
I thought these were pretty good...I don't know why people were so negative. I changed the 3/4 cup molasses for 1 cup and the 1 tsp ginger for 2 tsp. The extra molasses helped keep the dough together and the extra ginger balanced the flavor out so they didn't taste so much like molasses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yummymummy86

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Logan Lake, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2007
Awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
As many have noted, these cookies are not very sweet at all. I wish I had read them beforehand, but I was under a deadline so I just jumped in. These cookies are bland as sand, with a texture about as good. Ended up throwing them all away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
This recipe was excellent! Very tasteful even without the frosting (of course they are excellent with frosting too!). My husband who does not like gingerbread cookies actually liked these. My son and his friends all loved them too! The cookies aren't that sweet (which is exactly the way our family like) but very flavorful, soft and moist. The only changes I made were adding 1.5x of ginger than stated. Dough was bit hard to work with, but it is worth it!!!! Thanks for sharing this recipe... this will be our Christmas trandition :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
This recipe was fantastic. My husband, who doesn't like anything without chocolate in it, loved these cookies. I did tweek the recipe a bit though. I did not use cloves and I used 1 tsp. cinnamon, 1 tsp. allspice and 2 tsps. ginger. This gave them a little more flavor, in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States