Soft Gingerbread Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
I make these cookies every year they are amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
they just need to be sweeter but these are great - soft and tasty. Added more spice as suggested by one reviewer. The dough was hard to work with but manageable. This is the recipe I will use every Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
The only change I made was to add an egg for cookie stability once baked. These are wonderful cookies. Soft, moist, and not too strong in flavor. I like the fact that there is no shortening in this recipe. I also iced my cookies with vanilla tub frosting. It sets up well and rounds out the flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bethwalden3

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
The secret to keeping these cookies soft and chewy is to roll out the dough on plastic wrap or wax paper while it’s still warm; then chill it before cutting into shapes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Waterbury, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2009
This is a good standard gingerbread recipe. People have to remember that molasses based cookie dough isn't the easiest dough to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
I used this recipe for the first time this year and I will keep using it. These cookies were delicious. The dough was a little hard to work with but then again I didnt refrigerate it as my 3 year old was too excited to wait. I will definitely refrigerate it next time. I sprinkled flour on the counter and on the rolling pin and with a LOT of effort it rolled out fine for me to cut the shapes. Probably would have been less work had I chilled it first. Oh well, next time I will - and there will be a next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa J

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
I love this recipe and got many compliments on it during the Christmas season. A great, mild, soft gingerbread. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
These were amazing. Not sweet at all, perfect gingerbread cookies. I used dark molasses. The cookies stayed soft for a week. My husband said they were the best gingerbread cookies he ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region, Chile

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
My family and I made these cookies on christmas eve "for Santa" and they turned out great! I did not have to change the recipe as many people had said. I did however add a half a teason of orange extract for extra flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mProwler

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norfolk, Virginia, USA
Living In: Englewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
Too many gingerbread cookie recipes are rock hard... this one is so much more enjoyable. Definitely use the "gingerbread frosting for cookies" with these cookies.. it gives them more flavor and a kick (kinda like "red-hots") Crumbly dough issue.. try molding the dough (like bread) before refrigerating.. this will distribute the moisture better, and allow for more consistency, less crumble.. and easier rolling. Flour: caution on the flour, use too much and you will have flour-powdered cookies.. when cooked the flour is still there. I like the rolling between wax paper suggestion (I will try that nex time). overall.. EASY recipe.. and enjoyable.. grab a glass of milk with these..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States