Soft Gingerbread Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
I AM professional baker, and I am embarrassed that I didn't see this coming. I ignored the bad reviews and went with this recipe anyway. I wasted money and time making these HORRID cookies! Dry, tough, and tasteless. YUCK!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
Outstanding recipe. If you are looking for a soft gingerbread cookie you must try this one. Just made it for the first time, followed the recipe exactly, I have no idea why some others reported problems with the texture or dough consistency. Use soft (NOT melted butter), measure flour accurately and mix completely in your mixer and they turned out exactly as I thought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
I made these cookies with my daughter and they turned out perfect! I did use the tip off another review to roll the dough between two sheets of wax paper with a little flour sprinkled on the paper. It was so easy and the cookies are delicious!!! We also had fun making some x-mas ornaments out of some of the cookies. We just cooked those a little longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
By far the best recipe I've ever used for gingerbread cookies. The dough was easy to work with and the cookies are delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
These cookies were THE best gingerbread cookies I've ever tasted! Everyone loved them and they were gone in a day! Thanks for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
This is a keeper! I followed this recipe exactly, and the cookies were sturdy enough for my three year old and her 2 1/2 year old friend to decorate (only three broke out of the whole batch). They were still chewy a few days later. They were a bit spicy, but that's what I expect in gingerbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
I found these to be the best cookies when it came to gingerbreads. They were soft,chewy and very very flavorful. Thank You very much for sharing them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
Cookies didn't have as much flavor as I would have liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
I have been looking for years for a soft gingerbread cookie recipe. I've finally found it! My husband who doesn't even like gingerbread cookies practically inhaled these cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
Did I do something wrong? These are terrible. (They look beautiful but taste like bread dough.) I went back and reread the recipe and am positive I didn't leave anything out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States