Soft Gingerbread Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
We made these cookies tonight, and they turned out AMAZING. Very easy to prepare the dough. They taste like what a gingerbread should taste like. For the folks who reviewed that the dough was to sticky, they probably didn't refrigerate it long enough. We prepared the dough last night and refrigerated over night and it was not sticky or goopy at all! Fantastic recipe Sal! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
I loved this recipe. After reading all the reviews, I followed the recipe exactly. I found out through the many jobs I have worked in, that you have to let the dough warm to room temperature, after it's been refrigerated for the 3 hrs. It's much easier to roll out that way, no need for wax paper. There's no eggs in the recipe, so no worries on bacteria. I also brushed the tops with honey for an added sweetness. WILL TOTALLY BAKE AGAIN AND AGAIN.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FoxxyChef

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Best gingerbread cookies. not too sweet, just perfect with royal icing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
even with the doubled spices these are bland bland bland. ther are so sticky with the extra butter suggestion as well. i wont make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
Texture was like a cross between a cookie and bread, and very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
This was the simplest most easy recipethat I have ever made. It was not tough toroll out it was alittle sticky but I just added alittle more flour. My first batchI used Wholewheatflour and I do not reccomened that because they came out with no flavour at all they were very floury and taste less. so I am doing another batch right now. I used regular flour and added vanilla as well. I upped the amount of PUMPKIN SPICE that I used and added 1/2 cup butter as well.The dough this time was easier to roll not tough at all which is surprising so much that people were complaining about this. this time i decreased the amount of molasses I hope this helps the taste. they are very fragile when they come out of the oven so you have to be careful. I cooked them for 6 minutes the first time but this time i will try 7 or maybe even 8.I'm sure everyone will enjoy. you just have to test out the amount of spice to your liking.Here comes the test!They look great and taste great! oh i got it right this time they are fantastic! i will use this reciepe all the time. putting icing on them and decorating them to your liking will help make them alittle sweeter. gingerbread cookies are not supposed to be sweet! A huge winner with me and a keeper for sure 5BIGSTARS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
Wonderful gingerbread cookie. Just like I remember from when I was little. Perfect flavor and great for decorating. Did make a few suggested changes. I used a half a cup of butter flavored shortening rather than butter, baking powder, not soda, and a half cup of brown sugar. I'm a big fan of this cookie, thank you for posting it and thank you to others who cooked it before me for helping me make it better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
Very good. The dough is tough though. I used about 1/2 a cup less flour, and added as I needed to where it wasn't as sticky. It was a good method to control the toughness. I also doubled the spice measurements, I liked it better than what the recipe calls for. Really love these cookies though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
these were easy to make, and turned out great. i did modify the amount of butter to 3x what the recipe called for, and will prob do 4x next time (1/2 cup, or 1 stick). the dough becomes too crumbly otherwise. that aside, great results from this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
I loved these cookies! I was looking for a gingerbread cookie that was soft and this was it! The recipe was very easy to make and had basic ingredients that most people have available. The only changes I made to the recipe were, I only let my dough cool in the fridge for 1 hour and it worked out good. I also used pumpkin pie spice and cloves instead of the individual spices, tasted great! I also frosted them with powdered sugar icing which added the extra sweetness that I felt they needed!! My son LOVES these cookies. He has never liked any kind of cookie except for these gingerbread cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States