Soft Gingerbread Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
I made these recently due to a sudden gingerbread craving. Rather than let them cool and then roll the dough out, I dropped tablespoon sized blobs of dough onto a tin-foil lined baking sheet and baked them straight away. If done like that, they finish baking with soft, almost cakey quality to them. Simply fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
Either the recipe is wrong (1/8C of butter for 3 1/4C flour??) or it is meant to make decorative, not edible gingerbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
First time making Gingerbread cookies! They were great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
This was a GREAT recipe and easy to follow, which we followed as written. The spices were yummy and it tastes just like gingerbread cookies should taste! The dough was sticky so use flour liberally when rolling them out, that helped a lot. We plan on making them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I loved it! But I made a spicy glaze for it... everyone raved about it and it was the first time I din't have any left over cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
not sure what went wrong, but dough was way too dry and crumbly, no flavor, and had a weird chewy texture once baked. no one ate them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
this recipe was great! i doubled the recipe (to make large gingerbread men i would recommend this) and they were gone in less than a day. they were very easy to make and tasted great..... also add 1/2 a tsp of nutmeg
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
Very disappointing cookies. Very bland taste and tough dough that crumbles easily. I have had success with so many baking recipes on this site and this was very first true let down. I combed through several reviews and decided to give it a shot because so many people have rated this recipe, usually this is a safe bet but not in this case. Tthe texture is nice but the it has nothing else going for it. As said already by me and others, very bland and not at all sweet tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
They are not sweet, but they look great! The dough was not as hard as some said to roll out, at least I didn't have trouble. But, they are the best tasting in the whole world.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
these turned out perfect! the dough was nice and soft and they came out of the oven beautifully.... and for those of you who gave bad reviews.... chances are you did something wrong... these are delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States