Soft Gingerbread Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2004
I'm not the most experienced baker, but most things I try for the first time come out good. I followed this recipe to the exact detail and the dough was terribly hard to roll out. It crumbled apart the more you tried. My husband suggested adding a little water but I didn't want to ruin the recipe...so I put a chunk of the dough on my board, sprinkled a tiny bit of water, rolled it out, and then cut a heart cookie. I baked that one to test it, and while the taste itself wasn't bad, the texture was weird. I chilled the rest of the dough overnight thinking maybe the minimum 3 hours wasn't long enough, tried again this morning, and ran into even more difficulty. Granted, this was my first attempt at making gingerbread cookies, but I probably would have had better luck just following the recipe on the bottle of molasses! Sorry to be critical, but that was my experience. I should have read more of the reviews before putting the time and effort into this, since the majority seemed to run into the same problems I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwood, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Stoughton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2004
these "cookies" are bland and lifeless and are more like a bread than a cookie. calling them dense would be a serious understatement, these are the thickest, hardest cookies iver ever made. though it said it made 36, i only got about 12 out of it. the dough was hard as a rock and nearly impossible to roll out. my brothers and sisters wont eat them, and my parents even winced when they tried them. but then again, they do make nice tree ornaments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2004
Great recipe. To prevent from becoming hard do not over cook. This recipe requires very little cooking time. Be sure to roll these out to at least a 1/4 inch or else they will not be chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2004
They turned out like rocks. Maybe I'll have my husband drill a hole in the top so I can hang them on my Christmas tree. I'm an experienced baker and these were awful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2004
YUCK! These cookies were dry and bland. My daughters even refused to eat any more than a bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erica

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Delmont, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2004
These had NO flavor, and when put into the oven transformed into little pieces of soft, mushy pieces of bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2004
These cookies seemed more like a bread in cookie form. They were not very sweet at all. I think they are good if you know this ahead of time, but don't be expecting much of a cookie. They were incredibly soft, which is one thing toward them. But, I would have liked them better with more sugar, and less molassas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2004
Greatest gingerbread recipe I've tried!! I always get compliments when I make them, because they stay soft. A definite crowd pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tolland, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2004
I have shared the cookies with my family and friends. All have asked for the recipe. I just love this gingerbread cookie! I found that if it was too dry, adding a little water helped. I also found that rolling the dough when it was just mixed helped to prevent it from drying out and made it easier to roll. A friend drizzled dark chocolate on top. The cookie has a pleasently mild taste, not overpowering like some other cookies I've tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2003
i'd rate this a zero if it was available. I followed your so called recipe to the letter,not only was this dough dry but what cookies were able to make it to a cookie sheet were the dryest flatest tasting cookies i ever made. next time get your recipe items correct. i will be sure not to use any of your recipes again!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States