Soft Gingerbread Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
The dough was very easy to work with. The cutouts baked up great. Very soft, chewy, and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nelson, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
the dough was really easy to work with and it baked really well.. they did come out soft. the taste however, was pretty bad. as much as i loved the ease of the recipe i dont think i'll be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2005
I've made this recipe a few times now for Christmas. It has a great flavor and texture. I didn't find it any more difficult to make than any other cookie that you have to roll out. I had no problems with the dough drying out at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
This cookies are perfect. They are soft, favorifull, but yet strong enough to frost. These are a new family favorit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2005
I have made this gingerbread recipe for several different events and it is a hit! I love the fact that they are softer and cook up to be thicker. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2005
Best gingerbread ever! Soft and sooo good. I made them at Christmas and even people who say they don't like gingerbread loved these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margaret

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2004
I'm not the most experienced baker, but most things I try for the first time come out good. I followed this recipe to the exact detail and the dough was terribly hard to roll out. It crumbled apart the more you tried. My husband suggested adding a little water but I didn't want to ruin the recipe...so I put a chunk of the dough on my board, sprinkled a tiny bit of water, rolled it out, and then cut a heart cookie. I baked that one to test it, and while the taste itself wasn't bad, the texture was weird. I chilled the rest of the dough overnight thinking maybe the minimum 3 hours wasn't long enough, tried again this morning, and ran into even more difficulty. Granted, this was my first attempt at making gingerbread cookies, but I probably would have had better luck just following the recipe on the bottle of molasses! Sorry to be critical, but that was my experience. I should have read more of the reviews before putting the time and effort into this, since the majority seemed to run into the same problems I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwood, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Stoughton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2004
these "cookies" are bland and lifeless and are more like a bread than a cookie. calling them dense would be a serious understatement, these are the thickest, hardest cookies iver ever made. though it said it made 36, i only got about 12 out of it. the dough was hard as a rock and nearly impossible to roll out. my brothers and sisters wont eat them, and my parents even winced when they tried them. but then again, they do make nice tree ornaments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2004
Great recipe. To prevent from becoming hard do not over cook. This recipe requires very little cooking time. Be sure to roll these out to at least a 1/4 inch or else they will not be chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2004
They turned out like rocks. Maybe I'll have my husband drill a hole in the top so I can hang them on my Christmas tree. I'm an experienced baker and these were awful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States