Soft Gingerbread Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by SUGARPLUMSCOOKIES
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
I've been looking for a soft, puffy gingerbread recipe for years. I bake a lot and try pretty much every gingerbread recipe I can find. This was pretty good, but didn't stay soft once it cooled. It did puff up when it was in the oven, but flattened again before it finished baking. It tasted really good and it kept it's shape really well, so it's definitely a good recipe, just not the best. By the way, this is much easier to work with if you roll the dough between two sheets of wax paper, loosen the paper on both sides, and then cut out with cutters. This way, you don't need excess flour which can toughen the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
184 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUGARPLUMSCOOKIES

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
These are the first gingerbread cookies I've baked, and I was very pleased with the results. The dough was a little difficult to work with, and I found it had to be very cold or it would soften too much and not be easy to cut out. Some of my batches turned out a little crispy so I had to watch the baking time very carefully, or they would over cook. There is a fine line between soft and crunchy with these cookies! The cookies turned out nice when baked properly, though. Nice, soft texture and good flavor. They didn't puff too much and retained their shape very well. We decorated using a butter cream icing and they tasted great! I'm making them again for our Christmas party this weekend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
These gingerbread cookies are fabulous! Takes a little patience and time with the refriderating and rolling out the dough. Takes me back when I rolled out biscuits with my Mom. They are soft and delicious cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
Fantastic! These are great! I did double the spices, and I left it in the fridge for about 6 hours! Wonderful, soft, and spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AOSWALT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Craig, Missouri, USA
Living In: Burr, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
WoW. These are quite possibly the worst cookies I have ever made. I learned a valuable lesson however - never triple a recipe you've never tried to before, no matter how 'Christmas-rushed' you may be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
These tasted like baked paste and the gingerbread men came out looking bloated instead of holding their shape.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEEMEEBULUGA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
I am sure the rating says it all. But in case it doesn't this is a awsome recipe. I originally tried it for the calorie values and i do like a gingerbread with a bit of bite so read the reviews and added a little more sugar and spices oh and instead of br. sugar I used spenda br. sugar (it worked well) and I didnt have any butter so I used becel oil and it also worked well.I really dont know what the people that said it was hard to work with were talking about it was extremly easyu to work with also if you dont like the taste maybe you used yucky cooking molasses in it fancy taste much better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEOW218

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Summerfield, Prince Edward Island, Canada
Living In: Edson, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
This was a pretty good recipe, the dough was pretty hard to work with the first few rolls, but after that it was fine. The bottoms of mine were a little hard after only 8 minutes, I had no problems with texture. Also, I only came out with 16 cookies...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
I thought this recipe was okay, definitely not a sweet tasting gingerbread cookie. I added icing to mine because the flavor was a little bland to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reggio Calabria, Calabria, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
the dough is tasty and cookies come out well, however, the dough is very difficult to work with, more so than other gingerbread recipies I have tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States