Soft Gingerbread Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
This is an excellent recipe! Personally, I don't use a cookie cutter. I simply roll some dough into a ball, roll it in sugar, place on a cookie sheet and press my thumb into the center. Wonderful molasses cookies?? Also...If you place the warm cookies in an air tight container, they will not get hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Laura
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
I love this recipe! My Gingerbread cookies came out awesome! They are very soft and has great flavor! I recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
There is something wrong with this recipe! The dough comes out dry and crumbly. I have added 1/3 cup more water and 1/3 cup more molasses and I'm hoping I can save the batch, however, I am very disappointed with instructions as they are listed in the posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Estep

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
I couldn't understand all the bad reviews on this. I made them for the first time for this Christmas and they where just awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
This recipe is easy and even the raw dough is yummy...I don't understand how it could fail...it's my new go to ginger cookie !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
Dough turned out very crumbly and dry, as some reviews said. I tried baking them and they turned out lumpy and just not good. Won't be using this recipe again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
I have made this recipe several times. My grandkids love it! Everyone that has tasted them is amazed at the great taste and softness of the cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Braunfels, Texas, USA
Living In: Bandera, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
This is a great recipe. It yielded about 50 small gingerbread men. I used oil instead of butter for a vegan recipe. It was quite a hit. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cairo, Al-Qahirah, Egypt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
I was looking for a soft gingerbread man cookie recipe and decided to go with this even though some had given it poor ratings. Taking these low ratings into consideration, I made these cookies exactly as indicated using leveled measurements on the ingredients. The flavor and sweetness level were mild but not bland--actually--just perfect for my taste buds, epecially since the icing would kick the sugar rush another notch. The important element for me was SOFT and I certainly got that. It was a beautiful thing. Know that I am not an "expert" baker/cook and I have a habit of altering recipes so I was glad when I stuck to the recipe on this one and the instructions were not complicated. I found it much easier, as others had recommended, to roll it in between two sheets of parchment paper. I also cut the shapes in place, so I just removed the excess dough and rolled out a new ball. As for time, I have a convection oven and it came out perfectly at 6 minutes on convec bake at my elevation of 6200 ft abve sea level. I will definitely use this agiain!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
I didn't have the spices so i used 1 1/2 tsp. of pumpkin spice seasoning, the taste was weird but most of all the texture was weird it was like rubber. everything but the spices i followed exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States