Soft Garlic Breadsticks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
GREAT recipe! I didn't use a bread maker, just my stand mixer. I also didn't read the directions close enough and let it rise twice. Once in an oiled bowl and then once in breadstick form. My mistake didn't hurt a thing and probably made them even more tender. I also omitted the herbs so as not to distract from the main dish. I agree with some reviewers that the garlic taste was a little lacking. I use quality McCormick spices and it still was a little low. They smelled GREAT, but I think 1/2 tsp more would have been perfect. This is definitely getting written on a recipe card for my box. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
Absolutely the best recipe I have tried for breadsticks. Thumbs Up!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
I didn't have much time or a bread machine so I did this recipe the best way possible for me. I only did 1 rising for about 20 minutes which led to a more dense breadsticks. The kids also helped so you know how that goes. Served with "Baked Seafood Au Gratin" which went perfectly with the breadstick flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
I made several different breadstick recipes trying to find the perfect one. This is it. These are great if you follow the recipe as written. I also tried making pepperoni breadsticks by rolling out the piece of dough, brushing it with egg, topping it with cheese and turkey pepperoni and rolling into a breadstick. Mmmmmmm!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
I wanted something similar to Olive Garden's breadsticks. This is it! I changed one thing: I used dried basil, so I only used 1/4 tsp. I would suggest a shorter baking time. I took mine out somewhere around 12-15 minutes, and they already had a hard crust forming on bottom. They were still divine!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
I made these yesterday to go along with delivery pizza - the breadsticks turned out better than the pizza did! The only change I made was to use Italian seasoning in place of the basil and to sprinkle a little garlic salt on them after brushing with melted butter. They were the perfect texture. I ate three with dinner and had to put the rest up so I didn't eat any more. Next time I'll probably make them thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
These tasted great! I dont have a bread maker so I did it with my stand mixer and then I kneaded it for 5 minutes. I also let the sugar, water and yeast sit for 10 minutes first. I put these on parchment paper because I was hoping it would prevent them from getting dark on the bottom but this technique didnt work. I dont know if it is the breadstick or what but they were crunchy on the bottom. Perhaps I overcooked them. Anyways I will definately use this recipe again and hopefull will have better luck with them. I also rolled these in parmesan cheese after baking. I got 17 breadsticks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DelightfulDines

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
Fantastic, but I should have added a bit more flour (everything is funny when you're above a mile high elevation). Slightly crispy and golden on the outside and soft on the inside. I "sprinkled" freshly minced garlic on the top while baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
I made as directed except I baked for 14 min at 400* on the top rack because that's the temperature required by the lasagna that was on the lower rack. There's just a titch too much garlic for my taste. I expect if I cut back to 2t that it will be a perfect 5-star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janell the Great

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
Really yummy. Had these last night with a salad and they complimented perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heather88

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Center, Washington, USA
Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 240) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States