Soft Frosted Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
i made these today and they turned out well..i did tweek it a little like minus 2tbl of the shorting and added butter and added 1tsp cream of tarter and replaced the milk for butter milk these cookies do taste good icing taste good I added almond extract instead of vanilla and turned out great the cookie was soft but like other reviews I think its more like a cornbread texture I will keep thank you for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
I love the Loft House soft sugar cookies and they're my absolute favorite cookies in the world! I had a craving for them today so I decided to make them but I split the recipe in half. I used butter instead of shortening and took away about a 1/4 tsp salt. I added 1/8 tsp cream of tartar to the dough. I refrigerated the dough for half an hour and rolled the cookies into balls and pressed them down to 1/4" thickness with a glass. Baked them at 345 degrees F for about 8 minutes. They weren't as soft as the Loft House cookies and had a cornbread-like texture. The frosting wasn't really like a frosting, it was like a sweet grainy mixture. It had a very weird texture. These cookies were ok but did not taste like the storebought ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
I have always hated these frosted sugar cookies like the icky sweet kind you buy at the grocery store during holidays. I indugled my kids this St. Pat's because I hate all the dyes and ick that goes into the store bought ones. OMG! My little daughter begged me to try a bite and they were absolutely DELICIOUS!!!! If you like extra sweet, make these. They are easy and you can make them right away (no refridge needed). The frosting is excellent. Thank you for posting the recipe. BTW, you want to roll them out with extra flour, (as with most sugar cookies), this way, if dough is soft, you can add what you need and they won't sick while cutting out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tedsey

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
These cookies turned out amazing! My family loves them, I made them for Christmas and I've made them 3 times since. I suggest not rolling it out with a rolling pin because it does stick, but just pressing with your hands with extra flour then use your cookie cutters. Fabulous cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
I followed this recipe exactly and these are NOT sugar cookies. These little fluff balls are not sweet whatsoever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
Good recipe. They were soft and tasted great even without the frosting. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
I made both the dough and the icing and just like a previous review stated, the portions are perfect. No leftover cookies or icing. That's awesome! Review of the cookie: sticky! I was making this to do w/ the kids and they were very excited to use the cookie cutters. No time to refrigerate so I just slowly added more flour. Problem solved. The flavor of the dough was a tad bland but that's because of the added flour. I did loved the softness and moistness of the cookie. Review of the icing: Very sweet but it worked well considering the blandness of the cookie. It was easy to put in ziploc bags and pipe onto the cookies and it does harden a little bit to where you can stack the cookies. Added peppermint extract to the icing to add more flavor and it was a great addition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
It was a bit sticky so I refrigerated it for a 1/2 hour, generously floured my pastry cloth and rolling pin and had no trouble. (The first rolling I didn't flour the surface enough and a couple of cookies stuck) The final product was delicious and the frosting made just enough for the batch. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
the frosting rocks.!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
very good! I made a few alterations-I added a bit more sugar, used butter and lemon juice instead of vanilla!!! Wowza!!! Very good-when the cookies came out of the oven, i lightly pressed the tops with the spatula!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mooresville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Soft Sugar Cookies IV

These addictive cookies are soft and just right for decorating.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Cracked Sugar Cookies I

These sugar cookies stay puffy and moist even when cool.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States