Soft Dinner Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
These are great! Fourth time I've made them and they are awesome every time. I don't use bread machine. I use a stand mixer. Put warm water and yeast in to proof, add the rest of ingredients except flour. Mix on low, add one cup flour and mix on medium for a minute, then gradually add rest of flour but no more than 3 1/4 cups or they will be dense and not light. If dough is too sticky to work with just dust the surface you are working on with a bit of flour before shaping balls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Cleary
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
I have wanted to make my own dinner rolls for a long time. This was delicious! And the best part is they were still soft when warmed up a day or two after! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
The only substitution I made was substituting 1/3 of the total amount of flour with whole wheat flour, and it still turned out great. I didn't use a bread machine, but used the advice of one of the reviewers who made it on her KA - two thumbs up on that procedure. It's a great way to add some whole grain without the kids even noticing! Will experiment next time with a 50:50 ratio of regular bread flour and whole wheat flour and see how it turns out. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
I use this to make bread, every kind of bread. Raisin, Cinnamon, Wheat, and white. I use exact ingredients, throw them into my Kitchen Aid, first paddle for a few seconds then hook for 10 Let rise for an hour then bake for 50 minutes, tap should sound hollow. Also made rolls as noted. Just a great, simple and fool proof!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Made these for Thanksgiving dinner. They were AWESOME!! Didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
I've made two batches of rolls and another time used it to make two loaves of bread. I only used 3 cups of bread flour and the dough was perfect each time. All were fantastic and got rave reviews. When I made rolls I made 20 rolls from each batch. Snipping the tops of the rolls with either stripes or an "X" with kitchen shears (as suggested by another reviewer) gave the rolls a professional look. I brushed the tops of the rolls with a light egg wash instead of butter but used butter on the tops of the loaves of bread. Both ways turned out great. This is my new standard bread recipe. Thanks for sharing, Beth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
I tried this recipe yesterday for Thanksgiving. Super, super easy; delicious!! Soft on inside & wonderfully crispy on the outside. Due to recent dietary changes (I'm allergic to dairy & egg yolks) I amended it as follows: Used Earth Balance buttery spread in lieu of the butter & 1/2 cup egg whites (4 egg whites) in lieu of the eggs. I had to bake about 20 minutes. I also used all-purpose flour; they turned out beautiful & delicious. YUMMMMMMYYYY!!!! Thanks for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by julzenca

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodbridge, California, USA
Living In: Owosso, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
These rolls were the bomb!!! My whole family thought they were store bought. They came out absolutely perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Putnam Valley, New York, USA
Living In: Johns Creek, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
This is an awesome recipe. My family loved them. I did use my breadmaker on dough setting, made things fast and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
I do not own a bread machine so I followed other reviewers suggestions on making by hand. Fantastic! No one could stop eating them! If you have the time to make rolls versus buying store bought, you will not be disappointed. Thank you for sharing with us and thank you to those who shared suggestions on making without a bread machine. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DLoomis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sevierville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

Sweet Dinner Rolls

Use a bread machine to make fast work of this tasty dough. Yum!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States