Soft Dinner Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
This recipe is similar to the one my mom has always used. She is famous in our family for these rolls, and no Thanksgiving would be complete without them. I have made them many times myself, but it was a lot of work to make it her way, by hand. The idea of using a bread machine (which has just been gathering dust in the basement) was my inspiration to look online, and I'm glad I found this recipe. I used milk instead of water to match my mom's recipe. I used all purpose flour, since I didn't have bread flour, but I added a tablespoon of vital wheat gluten. I also used an envelope of regular active yeast rather than a tablespoon...I think the envelope has slightly less than a tablespoon, but that's what I had. My mom also heats the milk and melts the butter, so I did that in the microwave. My bread machine requires liquids at bottom, so I added the warm liquid, cracked the egg in, then added the dry on top. The dough came out a perfect consistency. I shaped the rolls and let them rise a bit more before freezing them. I will take them out on Thanksgiving morning, let them defrost, rise a bit more and bake. Thanksgiving was never so easy! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Elizabeth
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
Wow, wow, wow! We loved these! I got rid of my bread maker so I used my KA. I proofed my yeast by combining the water sugar and yeast and let it sit for maybe 15 minutes. I mixed in the butter, egg, salt and 1/2 of the flour with a wooden spoon and then mixed everything else up on my KA using the dough hook. I had it on I think 2 or 3 for about 3 minutes. I turned it out in an oiled bowl and placed it in my plate warmer for an hour on low. I punched the dough down and followed the rest of the directions from there. I made mine bigger and had only 12 rolls. These would make phenomenal hamburger buns! They were delicious with our stew, but I can't wait to make burgers with these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Delray Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
This is the best dinner roll recipe I have ever tried.They turn out soft and yummy and are so easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
Best dinner rolls ever! I made them in my kitchen aid mixer. I combined the water, yeast, sugar and let it foam. Then, I combined everything five minutes later. I also added two tablespoons of Italian seasoning and a little parmesan cheese. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
I made these last night and they turned out PERFECT! Not a single roll left over! I used my muffin tin to bake them and they looked so pretty! My kids devoured them quickly, which says a lot since they are super picky on dinner rolls! I am making a triple batch today and freezing the dough balls to bake later!! I won't be looking for another recipe again, these are now my only recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momma Corey

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
This is a great recipe! Very easy to make. I used muffin tins and made 12 big rolls. Turned out perfect. My husband has already eaten half of them. Will be using it as my go to roll recipe. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by anneryscas
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
Made this, came out perfectly, they lasted for about an hour my family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
Great recipe, wonderful flavor and texture. Very easy to make (used my mixer) and makes 15 nicely sized dinner rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MOMOFSNUGGLEBUG
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
The first time I made these, I ended up with a gooey mess that didn't turn out at all because I had too much water and not enough yeast. The second time I watched the video and prepared it just as the recipe suggested and they came out perfectly. I needed something quick and easy because I was on a deadline. They did not disappoint and I'm glad that I gave them a second try. PERFECT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brainerd, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Mililani, Hawaii, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

Sweet Dinner Rolls

Use a bread machine to make fast work of this tasty dough. Yum!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States