Soft Dinner Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Hi, this is a very simple recipe and today is the second time making it. I use my KitchenAid to mix the dough and wait for it to rise. The first time I made them it was for a family dinner and rave reviews were received from everyone. I have a recipe which was passed to me from my Step-father which I used to make however these are less sweet and very tender. If you eat one more than likely you will be going back for a second one. I wonder if they would be as nice if they were made into buns?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Inez Quinn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Russell, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
Great recipe. I've made it in a kitchen aid and bread machine. Both worked equally well. I find my bread machine under-kneads dough, so after the second kneading cycle I shut it down and re-start. It adds to prep time but the texture improvement makes it well worth it. Also, I sort of knead and roll into tight balls before putting them into the baking dish to rise. This also improves the texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Morris2012
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
My new favorite dinner roll. They were amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vickygloz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
My daughter needed a quick, easy dinner roll recipe to take to a Christmas dinner. These were perfect! As other reviewers mentioned, she didn't use the bread machine, just mixed up the dough by hand, greased a bowl, turned the dough to coat, covered it with plastic wrap & let it rise in a warm place for an hour, punched it down and formed 24 rolls rather than 15, placed them 4 x 6 in a 9x13" pan and let rise for another 1/2 hour, then baked as directed. We didn't have bread flour so used all purpose, just being sure to fluff it first and scoop it lightly into the measuring cup. I also think that the standard 2 1/4 tsp. packet of yeast would have been enough. We happened to have a bit more left over from another recipe, but it didn't come to quite a tablespoon. These turned out what I consider a regular dinner roll size, and she got a lot of compliments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NancyLou
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
Easy and delicious. I used lutzflcat's review and made in the KitchenAid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NancyLou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
These are great! Fourth time I've made them and they are awesome every time. I don't use bread machine. I use a stand mixer. Put warm water and yeast in to proof, add the rest of ingredients except flour. Mix on low, add one cup flour and mix on medium for a minute, then gradually add rest of flour but no more than 3 1/4 cups or they will be dense and not light. If dough is too sticky to work with just dust the surface you are working on with a bit of flour before shaping balls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Cleary
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
I have wanted to make my own dinner rolls for a long time. This was delicious! And the best part is they were still soft when warmed up a day or two after! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
The only substitution I made was substituting 1/3 of the total amount of flour with whole wheat flour, and it still turned out great. I didn't use a bread machine, but used the advice of one of the reviewers who made it on her KA - two thumbs up on that procedure. It's a great way to add some whole grain without the kids even noticing! Will experiment next time with a 50:50 ratio of regular bread flour and whole wheat flour and see how it turns out. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
I use this to make bread, every kind of bread. Raisin, Cinnamon, Wheat, and white. I use exact ingredients, throw them into my Kitchen Aid, first paddle for a few seconds then hook for 10 Let rise for an hour then bake for 50 minutes, tap should sound hollow. Also made rolls as noted. Just a great, simple and fool proof!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

Sweet Dinner Rolls

Use a bread machine to make fast work of this tasty dough. Yum!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States