Soft Christmas Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2003
WONDERFUL! For a perfect, soft sugar cookie, the following small modifications will get you there...use butter instead of marg, and melt it over the stove. It helps to dissolve the sugar, and to help sugars and butters cream better. Use only 3 cups flour. Finally, oven temp at 350 and baking cookies for 8-10 minutes keeps it soft. Lining with parchment paper also helps. Keep an eye out...they will seem too pale to remove from the oven, but just when the center doesn't look "wet" anymore, it is done. They still bake for 2 or so minutes, so they will darken up a little and be perfect. FYI--when rolling these out, keep the dough nice and thick...the cookie will be crisp (still good)if it is too thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2307 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2001
These cookies came out soft, fluffy, and delicious. The dough was simple to make and easy to work with. However IMO, some adjustments are necessary to make this recipe perfect: 1) Only add 3 cups of flour to the dough, then use 1/2 cup to roll them out. 2) Use butter instead of margerine to give them better flavor and texture. 3) Bake them at 350 degrees instead of 400 to let them puff up and make them softer. Make sure not to roll them too thin or overbake them. They should have only a trace of brown around the edges. Enjoy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
881 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2002
these cookies puffed up nicely and held their shape when using cookie cutters. Very buttery and not overly sweet. They tasted wonderful with just a bit of colored sugar sprinkled on top. I did add some cinnamon, nutmeg, and a tablespoon of molasses and used half white sugar and half brown sugar to one batch to make snicker-doodles and they turned out great. This is a wonderful sugar cookie recipe that can be used as base for many kinds of cookies. I am a professional pastry chef and have access to many recipes and this is one of the best I have come across.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
621 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Stone Mountain, Georgia, USA
Living In: Owings Mills, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2007
FANTASTIC! I have made these MANY times now, and they are always well-received. I do make some recommended changes: butter instead of margarine, 3 1/3 cups flour and sub 1 cup white sugar and 1 cup powdered sugar for the 1 1/2 cups white sugar called for. I also use powdered sugar - as opposed to flour - when rolling them out. These are easy to handle, and hold up FABULOUSLY . . . tasting great even a week later! I use the Sugar Cookie Icing on this site, and they always look amazing. A side note: the first time I made these I made a batch of this recipe AND a batch of the Best Rolled Sugar Cookies, and these were by FAR better - both in texture and taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
419 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2003
I have been trying to find the perfect cut out cookie recipe and this is the best so far. Like some others I also used butter and I cut back the flour to 3 cups. I wrapped the dough in plastic wrap and divided it in two as it made it easier to work with. I reduced the heat to 350 and cooked the cookies approximately 10 minutes. Be sure you don't roll out the dough too thin or they will be a harder crispier cookie. I used Barbara's Butter Icing for Cookies and it was excellent. These definitely rate 5 stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
169 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2002
This is the first time I ever successfully made sugar cookies. They were wonderful. I did follow recommendations of reducing flour to 3 cups, oven temp to 350 and used butter instead of margarine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
131 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mc Donald, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2002
These cookies definitely lived up to all the great reviews. They were soft and chewy long after being cooled. I do regret icing the cookies since they were a little sweet for my taste afterwards. I didn't chill the dough since I made use of a cookie press, which proved to be a time and mess saver. Thanks for the great recipe!!! I just made these again and I had to come back to say that they were perfect using cookie cutters. I followed the recipe exactly, except I refrigerated the dough overnight and cooked the cookies for 9 minutes at 350*F. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kbtvs

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sherwood Park, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2003
I'm not a fan of sugar cookies simply because I'm not a fan of crunchy cookies. But these were really delicious. The flavor was just great. I overcooked them a bit--but I could still see the potential deliciousness of them! They looked undercooked even when I now know they were done. So be sure not to go by eye so much--follow the recipe. I'll try again and follow the recipe more closely. Hopefully I'll end up with the fabulous soft cookie I know it can be. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2003
These are by far the best sugar cookies I have ever had! I made Valentine cut-outs for my daughter's class and my family loved them so much that I made another batch the next weekend for my kids to decorate. I used 3 1/4 cups flour and real butter. Larger, thick cookies come out even softer. I bake just until the centers are set then leave them on the cookie sheet for a minute to "cook" a little longer before putting them on the racks. WONDERFUL! WONDERFUL!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Springwater, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2002
These cookies were pefect, and I have tried SEVERAL recipes from this and other websites. I would follow the recommendations of a previous reviewer who suggested using butter, cooking at a different temperature, etc. Her comments are in the second group of reviewers. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 861) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States