Soft Christmas Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I am cookie cutting-challenged, but I made wonderful cookies with this recipe!! I so appreciate you sharing this recipe, it makes me a successful baker at age 40 (finally!) :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovingcooking

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
This recipe was just ok. It needed some modifications. After reading other peoples reviews I added butter instead of margarine which I agreed with. I did not add any salt, due to the fact the butter is salty. Don't cut out the extra flour, do add the 3 3/4 amount, after letting it sit overnight the dough was still so sticky and hard to work with, adding that extra flour will help, even though when you roll it out you will still add another cup or so. I think it called for to much sugar 1 cup was perfect. Also it needed more flavor so I put in 1 tsp almond extract and 1 tsp of cream of tart. Do bake at 350 for 9 minutes! And perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Really delicious - really soft - really easy! I took the advice of others and cut the flour down to 3 cups, baked at 350 for 8 minutes, and they are perfect! Don't roll them out too thin; 1/4 inch is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I used this recipe this year and they were very soft and yummy. I made a few changes as per reviews suggested. I used 3 cups of flour, rolled thick and cooked at 350 for 8-10 minutes. I think next time I will try adding some almond extract too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
These cookies are delicious, but a little time consuming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OolyndeoO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houma, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
Perfect recipe and I did not need to change a thing... I have been using this recipe for the last few years for an annual Christmas Eve party and everyone begs me to make these. Easy recipe, delicious and perfect consistency...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
Perfect, the dough was easy to handle and the cut outs did not lose their shapes in the oven. Also not overly sweet so will work well with the frosting! Only sugar cookie recipe I will use from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Keyport, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
its a good recipe i used butter instead of margarine and they still came out wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookiecook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Orange, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Newark, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
Oh My Gosh! I haven't even iced them yet and they are fabulous! I just pulled the last batch out of the oven and I could not be happier. As others suggested, I used butter instead of margarine and baked them at 350 for 10 minutes. I was dubious when I pulled them out because they just didn't have that golden glow that I'm used to but just letting them sit on the tray for another minute was perfect. All I can hear from my family is 'Mmmmmm, yummmmmm, ooooohhhhhh'... If I can just keep them out of the kitchen long enough to actually ice the cookies, that would be great ;) Fabulous recipe - will never use anything else!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
I think these cookies turned out wonderfully! I followed the recipe exactly (except cut in half) and had no problems! They kept their shape, came out soft and puffed up just enough. I gave them to my elementary students and they were a hit! Definitely a recipe to keep!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 849) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Award-Winning Soft Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake a top-rated chocolate chip cookie.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States