Soft Christmas Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
I needed an egg-free recipe, and I only had butter in my fridge, so I used two ener-G egg replacer "eggs" instead of real eggs, and butter instead of margarine. I upped the baking powder to 1.5 tsp, and added a tsp of cinnamon and 1/2 tsp of nutmeg for a more Christmas-y flavor. Although I did NOT change the amounts of flour or sugar as some others suggested, I did bake these at 350 for about 12-13 minutes and took them out when they still didn't look quite done. Iced them using the Sugar Cookie Glaze from this site. Two days later, they are still wonderfully chewy and soft, no easy feat for an eggless version of a cookie! I will definitely use this recipe again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PorcelainFox
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
A perfect recipe that's not too hard for a beginner and very tasty indeed! I tried this with a friend this Christmas and the dough wasn't too hard or soft, and the amounts of sugar and butter in it were perfect. Everyone who tried them loved them. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PorcelainFox

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Moscow, Moscow (Federal City), Russia
Living In: Marbella, Andalucia, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I went with the suggestion to only use 3 cups of flour, and it's the stickiest dough I've ever seen--about the same as bisquick sausage balls. Not what I was expecting. Very hard to work with. I got 5 cookies for Santa and gave up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
LOVE! These were easy to make and delicious! Will make it a part of my holiday tradition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I am cookie cutting-challenged, but I made wonderful cookies with this recipe!! I so appreciate you sharing this recipe, it makes me a successful baker at age 40 (finally!) :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovingcooking

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
This recipe was just ok. It needed some modifications. After reading other peoples reviews I added butter instead of margarine which I agreed with. I did not add any salt, due to the fact the butter is salty. Don't cut out the extra flour, do add the 3 3/4 amount, after letting it sit overnight the dough was still so sticky and hard to work with, adding that extra flour will help, even though when you roll it out you will still add another cup or so. I think it called for to much sugar 1 cup was perfect. Also it needed more flavor so I put in 1 tsp almond extract and 1 tsp of cream of tart. Do bake at 350 for 9 minutes! And perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Really delicious - really soft - really easy! I took the advice of others and cut the flour down to 3 cups, baked at 350 for 8 minutes, and they are perfect! Don't roll them out too thin; 1/4 inch is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I used this recipe this year and they were very soft and yummy. I made a few changes as per reviews suggested. I used 3 cups of flour, rolled thick and cooked at 350 for 8-10 minutes. I think next time I will try adding some almond extract too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
These cookies are delicious, but a little time consuming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OolyndeoO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houma, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
Perfect recipe and I did not need to change a thing... I have been using this recipe for the last few years for an annual Christmas Eve party and everyone begs me to make these. Easy recipe, delicious and perfect consistency...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 853) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States