Soft Christmas Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Honestly, they don't taste that great. Still on the search for a rolled sugar cookie that tastes as good as the unrolled kind!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
WOW! This is the perfect cut-out sugar cookie recipe. My girls always want to make cut-outs and I sometimes avoid it since past recipes were harder to work with. Like other reviewers, I cut the flour back to 3 cups. They did not get too dry, are nice and and buttery and were easy to handle. Like the Christmas cookies my Mom used to make :-) Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
My Daughter and I have been using this recipe as is everyday. We keep a batch in the fridge and roll into little balls as needed. By rolling into balls and flatining to about a 1/4 inch thick then ad sprinkles of all and any kind. Then bake. They travel really well without loosing sprinkles everywhere. Thank you for posting this recipe. It's awesome!!! Oh I also use parchment paper ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
I read a lot of the reviews, did as suggested i.e. cut the amount of flour, oven temp and cooking time. Flavor was fair (I added more vanilla and a touch of rum extract to taste). Cookies held the shape well but as they cooled, they turned to cement.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vee Horning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Pretty good,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Only AFTER this turned out to crumble all over did I read ALL the reviews stating to cut the flour back. "As it is" ...well, it's terrible. They crumble apart as you try to roll out the dough. I followed this to the letter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
These turned out great!!! I took the advice of others and used 3 cups of flour instead and used butter instead of margarine. I also baked at 350 for only 8 minutes and they turned out PERFECT. :) Thanks all!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Add some lemon zest for an even better flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
I have been making sugar cookies for over 40 years. It was tradition for us kids and our mom every Christmas to make huge trays to give as gifts. This is the best recipe I have found, and I have tried many recipes over the past decade, trying to find the perfect sugar cookie. These cookies are tender and delicious but hold up to decorating when properly cooled. Don't overcook them unless you prefer a crispy cookie. They are still good, but we prefer them soft and only bake them until they are barely golden at the edges. *I use butter, not margarine. I have also used half whole wheat flour. Since we frost and decorate them anyway, it doesn't matter that they have a darker color from the wheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
I'm trying to figure out what I did wrong here. Mine turned out the opposite of everyone...not dry and crumbly, but sticky and absolutely impossible to roll. I tried just baking the dough to salvage some of my work, but the cookies tasted terrible. Still looking for a good cutout cookie recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 879) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States