Soft Christmas Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Made this cookie today! Came out perfect. I made the following modifications per the reviews: 3 cups of flour instead of 3 3/4 Butter instead of margarine 2 cups of sugar instead of 1 1/2 I also took the following recommendations: Bake at 350 for 6 minutes Roll the dough out on parchment paper so you can just transfer the parchment paper to the cookie sheet. I used different thicknesses for each batch... I liked the 1/4 inch the best... they puffed up to about half inch and are very soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by glamazon511

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
My daughter & I tested these cookies today. Other viewers suggested cutting back on flour so we did the same, they were very good! I do suggest adding more vanilla and almond extract. Dough rolled out easily w/out adding much flour, thanks for the recipe :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
I LIKE COOKIES!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angela a.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Very simple to follow and easy to roll oout dough. My husband doesnt normally like sugar cookies becuase he thinks they are always dry but loved these ones!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
This was an easy recipe to make, followed exactly and they turned out well. I played with the thickness of the cookie to what I like. The right sweetness as well. Recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Great Sugar cookies but I would say that 30g more of flour help reduce stckyness :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Mad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
These make the BEST sugar cookies. I gave up on my mother-in-laws recipe a couple years ago as it was nearly impossible to work with. I used the suggestions of others here and used butter, 3 cups of flour and baked at 375. Oh, and I didnt chill the dough as I forgot about that step and didnt have time. These are by far the best sugar cookies I have ever had. Nice and soft, just the way I like them. I get a lot of compliments on them as well. Great with the Sugar Cookie icing (icing sugar and corn syrup) found on this site. But just as good without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PINKY7575

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
I've used the same sugar cookie recipe for year but saw this and thought...ok...I'll try something new. I'm not going back. These cookies were so easy to roll out, were soft and taste great. Try them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
Great, delicious cookies! I just made another batch for a Christmas cookie exchange and they came out perfect! I did decrease the flour by about 1/4 cup and I almost never bake with butter, but I do use a high end baking margarine. It's never failed me yet! So if you like butter - go for it! But if not, know that using a good quality baking margarine will yield excellent results too. Since the margarine is salted, I omit the extra salt called for in this recipe. (Something I do for almost all recipes, really. You rarely need to add more if your butter or margarine is salted.) I also often use almond extract in my sugar cookies for that extra little something that everyone seems to love. And lastly, for the sugar in this recipe, I use 1 cup granulated sugar, 1/2 cup light brown sugar. It makes the cookies a bit softer and even easier to roll out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
This has got to be your "go to" cut-out cookie recipe when the occasion arises. My grandson's 3rd grade last year flipped out over the heart shaped cookies he shared with his classmates. They're soft with a slight crunch around the edge, just like you'd expect from a great cookie recipe. Dough is very easy to work with and the taste is exactly what you'd hoped for; delicious. I'm looking forward to 4th grade encore presentation on Valentine's Day!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail Cobile

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 111-120 (of 877) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States