Soft Christmas Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2015
These are really good. They keep their shape and are soft another thing I prefer in sugar cookies. Eating rocks is just not my thing. I have also tried the other recipes on all recipes. This is the BEST> HANDS DOWN
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lexie
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2015
Mixed results. This is the first time I've tried making this type of cookie. I followed the recipe. The dough was very hard to work with, very dry and crumbly, it took so long to roll and cut out the cookies. After 8 minutes in the oven they didn't look done at all, and since I like a crispy cookie I let them in til the tips started to brown. This however was a big mistake as the cookies turned out as hard as a rock! I was determined to try again. The next time I followed the advice of Tara1972 (melted butter, 3 cups flour, 350) and the cookies turned out just right! Soft and flavorful! I only let them chill for 50 minutes and they still came out just right and in time for the party. Happy 4th of July!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
Very tasty and a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2015
I left out a bit of the flour, substituted some brown sugar for the white (1/4 cup) and mixed in some sprouted whole wheat flour for nutrition purposes. i melted the butter completely before mixing. and a few other modifications for my family's preferences. all around as is or modified this is a great base recipe for chewy cookies i make snicker-doodles, sugar, and chocolate chip cookies with this dough. double the batch and make multiple types of cookies in one swoop!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
Excellent cookie! I halved the recipe and got about 27 heart-shaped cookies. I cut back a tad on the sugar, as I usually do. Followed some recommendations of using butter and baked at the lower temp of 350 for about 9 min. Another recommendation which I followed was cutting back on the flour (by ~ 1/4 cup), since you're using some when rolling out. I rolled the dough a little thicker because I didn't want too crispy cookies. Nice flavor which you could also change out with lemon extract or whatever. I iced them with Sugar Cooking Icing from this site. This is a cookie keeper! Thanks Georgie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
As written the dough was dry and crumbly and almost impossible to use. We salvaged it enough to make a dozen and cut back the cooking time. The only positive was that the cookies held their cut out shapes well. I usually make cookies with butter but these tasted just slightly off with margarine. My intent was to make a cookie with less dairy in it. I will try using 3c of flour next time and up the vanilla perhaps to help offset the margarine notes I detected. Definitely follow the modifications offered by others if you want to make this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
A very good cookie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shaker Heights, Ohio, USA
Living In: University Heights, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
Perfect!!!!! Cookies hold their shape. Taste is good you can add flavors and make different. Great to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
These were great! I did adjust the flour and cook time per other reviews but they really came out lovely! Thanks for making sugar cookies feel worth it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
FANTASTIQUE!!! Thumbs up recipe. This recipe is the best I've tryed in like Forever! I do agree with using butter instead of margarine, preheating the oven to 350 for 8-10 minutes instead of 6-8 minutes at 400 and using 3 cups of flour instead of 4. When you make those changes it's like I'm eating a cloud. A soft, tasty cloud. Also, when you add icing onto it, it's so yummy! I recommend this recipe for any special occasion or anything even if it's just seeing friends. I definitely rate this 5 stars. And this is an old recipe from around 2002 so EXELLENT work. 5 STARS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 881) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States