Soft Christmas Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
My Daughter and I have been using this recipe as is everyday. We keep a batch in the fridge and roll into little balls as needed. By rolling into balls and flatining to about a 1/4 inch thick then ad sprinkles of all and any kind. Then bake. They travel really well without loosing sprinkles everywhere. Thank you for posting this recipe. It's awesome!!! Oh I also use parchment paper ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
I read a lot of the reviews, did as suggested i.e. cut the amount of flour, oven temp and cooking time. Flavor was fair (I added more vanilla and a touch of rum extract to taste). Cookies held the shape well but as they cooled, they turned to cement.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vee Horning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Pretty good,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Only AFTER this turned out to crumble all over did I read ALL the reviews stating to cut the flour back. "As it is" ...well, it's terrible. They crumble apart as you try to roll out the dough. I followed this to the letter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
These turned out great!!! I took the advice of others and used 3 cups of flour instead and used butter instead of margarine. I also baked at 350 for only 8 minutes and they turned out PERFECT. :) Thanks all!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Add some lemon zest for an even better flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
I have been making sugar cookies for over 40 years. It was tradition for us kids and our mom every Christmas to make huge trays to give as gifts. This is the best recipe I have found, and I have tried many recipes over the past decade, trying to find the perfect sugar cookie. These cookies are tender and delicious but hold up to decorating when properly cooled. Don't overcook them unless you prefer a crispy cookie. They are still good, but we prefer them soft and only bake them until they are barely golden at the edges. *I use butter, not margarine. I have also used half whole wheat flour. Since we frost and decorate them anyway, it doesn't matter that they have a darker color from the wheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
I'm trying to figure out what I did wrong here. Mine turned out the opposite of everyone...not dry and crumbly, but sticky and absolutely impossible to roll. I tried just baking the dough to salvage some of my work, but the cookies tasted terrible. Still looking for a good cutout cookie recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
I have the dough chilling right now. I have never had such a hard time getting all the flour into the butter/sugar/egg mixture. Wonder why?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
First time making sugar cookies--they turned out nicely, especially the second batch. I followed the alterations that many other people did--reduced the flour to 3 cups and baked at 350. I also added 1 tsp of cinnamon. I tried three different shapes--Christmas trees, stars, and gingerbread men. The stars (probably because of their smaller size) ended up burning while the others turned out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 877) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States