Soft Christmas Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
I just wanted to say Thank you for the AMAZING sugar cookie recipe! This is the first year ive ever been able to make cut out x-mas sugar cookies with my kids! Last year I tried with a different recipe and the dough was a disaster so sticky and such a mess than I put to much flour to get sticky off dough and it got too thick.ya it was a nightmare! I thought I would try it again and I found this recipe after searching and gave it a try and WOW it worked!!!! Dough that was perfect NOT sticky and was wonderful to roll out. The x-mas cookies are turning out beautifully and its all Thanks to your amazing recipe I now have a go to sugar cookie recipe that I can use to make cut outs for all the holidays as its so fun to decorate them! Thank you so much! I did follow some of the other's suggestions and only used 3 cups of flour and I used 2 cups of sugar and baked them at 350% instead of 400% and by the way these cookies cook SUPER FAST only about 5 min at most they will be very pale in color and still soft but take them out and leave on cookie sheet for 1 minute then move to cooling rack and they harden and are perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
As suggested, use 3 cups flour in dough + 1/2 cup to roll. I used 1/4 margarine and 3/4 butter as it's what I had on hand. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minerva, Ohio, USA
Living In: Rouen, Haute-Normandie, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Brandi Jean Smith
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
This recipe is perfect for frosted cookies! The dough is nice, and it holds its shape perfectly! The cookies are not very sweet, but I think that works perfectly for putting frosting on them so you don't get a sweetness overload. I love the texture of these, they are soft and chewy and amazing! I will definitely be using this recipe ALOT! Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandi Jean Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
Love these cookies! Turned our great! Really easy to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
These tasted like Nilla Wafers, I did not like them. The only thing I did differently was that I used butter because I didn't have marg. Not sure if that could be the culprit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
Absolutely perfect! I followed the suggestions and used butter instead of margarine and used 3 cups of flour. I also baked it at 350 degrees in stead of 400 for about 10 minutes. There were no problems rolling them out or using the cookie cutters. These cookies were soft and chewy and melt in your mouth! They were gone in one day. I made them with the Sugar Cookie Icing recipe on this site, and they were great! Also tastes great with some colored sugar sprinkled on the top before you bake. I will definitely use this recipe again...and again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
Since I discovered it a year and a half ago it is the only sugar cookie recipie I use!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
Easy. I just rolled the dough into balls and flattened them. Worked great. These taste as good as my mother's recipe which is saying a LOT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
Awesome! this was the 1st recipe i've ever tried to make roll out cookies and i'm sticking with it! i did follow the other reviewers and only used 3 c flour and used butter (butter is better!) Oh, i also used powered sugar instead of flour to roll out the cookies. i heard that tip somewhere and it worked great. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
Very good texture. Even the cookies that I left in the oven too long and over-browned were perfectly soft the next day. I did use butter instead of margarine and 3 1/2 c. flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PUNKGIRL

Displaying results 41-50 (of 853) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States