Soft Christmas Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Followed others suggestions, did butter & 3 c flour...turned out average, still on the hunt for a better recipe. However since it didn't need to be rolled out real thin, it was easy for my toddler to help & dough was easy to work with...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Honestly, they don't taste that great. Still on the search for a rolled sugar cookie that tastes as good as the unrolled kind!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
WOW! This is the perfect cut-out sugar cookie recipe. My girls always want to make cut-outs and I sometimes avoid it since past recipes were harder to work with. Like other reviewers, I cut the flour back to 3 cups. They did not get too dry, are nice and and buttery and were easy to handle. Like the Christmas cookies my Mom used to make :-) Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
My Daughter and I have been using this recipe as is everyday. We keep a batch in the fridge and roll into little balls as needed. By rolling into balls and flatining to about a 1/4 inch thick then ad sprinkles of all and any kind. Then bake. They travel really well without loosing sprinkles everywhere. Thank you for posting this recipe. It's awesome!!! Oh I also use parchment paper ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
I read a lot of the reviews, did as suggested i.e. cut the amount of flour, oven temp and cooking time. Flavor was fair (I added more vanilla and a touch of rum extract to taste). Cookies held the shape well but as they cooled, they turned to cement.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Pretty good,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Only AFTER this turned out to crumble all over did I read ALL the reviews stating to cut the flour back. "As it is" ...well, it's terrible. They crumble apart as you try to roll out the dough. I followed this to the letter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
These turned out great!!! I took the advice of others and used 3 cups of flour instead and used butter instead of margarine. I also baked at 350 for only 8 minutes and they turned out PERFECT. :) Thanks all!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Add some lemon zest for an even better flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
I have been making sugar cookies for over 40 years. It was tradition for us kids and our mom every Christmas to make huge trays to give as gifts. This is the best recipe I have found, and I have tried many recipes over the past decade, trying to find the perfect sugar cookie. These cookies are tender and delicious but hold up to decorating when properly cooled. Don't overcook them unless you prefer a crispy cookie. They are still good, but we prefer them soft and only bake them until they are barely golden at the edges. *I use butter, not margarine. I have also used half whole wheat flour. Since we frost and decorate them anyway, it doesn't matter that they have a darker color from the wheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 850) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Award-Winning Soft Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake a top-rated chocolate chip cookie.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States