Soft Christmas Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
Amazing cookies. Followed some earlier advice and added 1/2 cup less flour. Only used 1 cup sugar and substituted 1/4 cup honey. Also added about 3 Tablespoons molasses and upped salt to 1 tsp since I was using unsalted butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
I have used this recipe for the past 2 years, replacing the margarine with butter. I have received a ton of compliments, which I have never really gotten for sugar cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
Not a big hit, though they were easy to work with. I made the dough one night, stuck it in the fridge and made them the next night. I LOVED the trick of rolling it between two sheets of parchment paper! I thought the cookies tasted like margarine while hubby thought they tasted floury and not sweet enough. It's hard to find a good lactose-free recipe. I might give it another try with half margarine and half shortening. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Accokeek, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ithaca, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
My cookies came out some what hard. Not very good, however my family enjoyed them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
I use butter instead of margarine and I also add 1/4 tsp cinnamon. I always use cream cheese frosting to decorate them and they are always a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
These are great! I use butter instead of margarine. They are really good if you bake them a little longer for a crispier cookie as well. Another recipe I am adding to my yearly cookie baking. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pasadena, Texas, USA
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
I've tried a LOT of cookie recipes and this one has to be the best!! It was super easy to mix (my kids even helped) and the texture is great. I added an extra 1/4 cup of flour and also 1/2 tsp of almond extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
I rarely ever change a recipe until after I try it. I used 1t. almond flavoring, and 1t. vanilla. These are perfect both ways. I am planning my next to have butter flavoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Anderson, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
very delicious cookies! Very good, very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
AWESOME! I have been baking for over 40 years, and these are by far the best cut-outs I have ever made. Easy to mix, easy to roll out. I used melted butter and baked at 350 degrees. I used to hate doing cut-outs but not any more - I will keep this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cairn Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corfu, New York, USA
Living In: Williamsport, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 853) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States