Soft Christmas Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Photo by Countess
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
EASY! I've made this recipe twice in a few days, and I'm not much of a baker. They came out perfect each time. My 10 year old nephew declared them to be the best sugar cookies he'd ever eaten! Everyone loved them. I iced them with the shiny cookie icing recipe on AllRecipes. http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Shiny-Cookie-Icing/Detail.aspx?prop24=RD_RelatedRecipes&extkb=1 I also made candy cane shaped cookies and iced them with peppermint white chocolate icing, which I made my melting down some white chocolate chips with skim milk, added a little peppermint oil and red food coloring, and piped from a pastry bag. Delicious either way! I do think these cookies require icing. Otherwise they're kind of like shortbread - pretty dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
I followed the advice from other reviewers and kept back 1/2 cup of flour (all-purpose, organic white flour). I don't use margarine, so I used 1/2 cup of soft, salted organic butter and 1/2 cup soft shortening. (This ratio makes the best pie crust, btw) I was able to form the dough into 4 balls to refrigerate for an hour, but when I tried to knead and roll it, it crumbled into a huge mess. I tried to warm it in my hands, but the temperature wasn't the problem. There was still too much flour in the dough, and in no way could I roll it out well enough to cut shapes from it. Instead of throwing this mess in the garbage, I added more soft butter along with a bit of water, and was able to salvage the dough . Another egg/egg yolk may have helped bind it better too, but I didn't have any more eggs. With those changes, the cookies ended up pretty good, but they are not this recipe. One positive thing I can say is that I appreciated how mildly sweet the cookies turned out, as I don't like super sugary foods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emigh

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Perfect! I changed only the things the other reviewers had recommended; replacing margarine with butter, reducing the flour and sugar and they were perfect! We worked with the kids and it was fun cutting out the shapes, baking, eating, decorating, eating, packing in Xmas gift bags, eating...in that order ;-) !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
I followed this recipe except I had adjusted it for 35 servings. I cooked them at 375 for 11 mins, and rolled them to 1/4 in thick, but they never browned on tops at all so watched for slight browning underneath. They were cooked through but tasted like dough! I didn't like these at all. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
Just made this with my two boys, ages 5 and 2 1/2. The dough was very forgiving for little hands, although we had to stop and refrigerate a couple of times as it got soft quickly and would tear. I followed the suggestions to use 3 cups flour and baked at 350 for 11 minutes (our cutouts were rather large and thick!). A couple broke while trying to remove them from the pan, so my helpers got a taste test :) Can't wait to frost them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise J.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Guelph, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
the cookies was very good but after cooling the cookies got hard. not soft what did I do wrong
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
Easy to make and delicious. I substituted butter for margarine but followed the rest of the recipe. My 3 and 6 year old had a blast rolling the dough, using cookie cutters and decorating. I highly recommend this recipe for any baking level.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
These are the best! Will never use another sugar cookie recipe! Make sure you let the dough sit for a few hours in the fridge! Excellent, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
These were good, but they took a while to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
I used this recipe almost exactly. I used 3 1/2c instead of 3 3/4c flour, fresh vanilla because I didn't have extract, added a couple of dashes of cinnamon and made them using a cookie press. They came out BEAUTIFUL. I cooked at 350 degrees and for 8 minutes until the edges were just golden brown. This is by far the best sugar cookie recipe I've ever used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 853) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States