Soft Christmas Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
These make the BEST sugar cookies. I gave up on my mother-in-laws recipe a couple years ago as it was nearly impossible to work with. I used the suggestions of others here and used butter, 3 cups of flour and baked at 375. Oh, and I didnt chill the dough as I forgot about that step and didnt have time. These are by far the best sugar cookies I have ever had. Nice and soft, just the way I like them. I get a lot of compliments on them as well. Great with the Sugar Cookie icing (icing sugar and corn syrup) found on this site. But just as good without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PINKY7575

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
I've used the same sugar cookie recipe for year but saw this and thought...ok...I'll try something new. I'm not going back. These cookies were so easy to roll out, were soft and taste great. Try them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
Great, delicious cookies! I just made another batch for a Christmas cookie exchange and they came out perfect! I did decrease the flour by about 1/4 cup and I almost never bake with butter, but I do use a high end baking margarine. It's never failed me yet! So if you like butter - go for it! But if not, know that using a good quality baking margarine will yield excellent results too. Since the margarine is salted, I omit the extra salt called for in this recipe. (Something I do for almost all recipes, really. You rarely need to add more if your butter or margarine is salted.) I also often use almond extract in my sugar cookies for that extra little something that everyone seems to love. And lastly, for the sugar in this recipe, I use 1 cup granulated sugar, 1/2 cup light brown sugar. It makes the cookies a bit softer and even easier to roll out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
This has got to be your "go to" cut-out cookie recipe when the occasion arises. My grandson's 3rd grade last year flipped out over the heart shaped cookies he shared with his classmates. They're soft with a slight crunch around the edge, just like you'd expect from a great cookie recipe. Dough is very easy to work with and the taste is exactly what you'd hoped for; delicious. I'm looking forward to 4th grade encore presentation on Valentine's Day!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail Cobile

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
Very tasty! Went exactly as recipe said!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
Great recipe. I always use butter, and took the advice of a few and melted it, then adding the sugar to dissolve that a bit. I was lucky enough to have come across a baker's "vanilla butter" emulsion, and I used this in place of vanilla in both the cookie and the royal icing I made to ice them with. Rolled to 1/2" thick and baked at 345F in a convection oven. The result is utterly addictive. Love these cookies! Would make them again in a heartbeat. Thanks for posting this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Evora
Home Town: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
The flavoring was great! I followed the recipe, but my dough ended up crumbly and I had to work it with flour and water to make it stick together more. Once I did that I was home free with the rest of the process. My back is sore from working the dough like it was bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
I will look no further for sugar cookie dough recipe! The BEST yet! Followed directions as is:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sasha F.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Countess
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
EASY! I've made this recipe twice in a few days, and I'm not much of a baker. They came out perfect each time. My 10 year old nephew declared them to be the best sugar cookies he'd ever eaten! Everyone loved them. I iced them with the shiny cookie icing recipe on AllRecipes. http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Shiny-Cookie-Icing/Detail.aspx?prop24=RD_RelatedRecipes&extkb=1 I also made candy cane shaped cookies and iced them with peppermint white chocolate icing, which I made my melting down some white chocolate chips with skim milk, added a little peppermint oil and red food coloring, and piped from a pastry bag. Delicious either way! I do think these cookies require icing. Otherwise they're kind of like shortbread - pretty dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
I followed the advice from other reviewers and kept back 1/2 cup of flour (all-purpose, organic white flour). I don't use margarine, so I used 1/2 cup of soft, salted organic butter and 1/2 cup soft shortening. (This ratio makes the best pie crust, btw) I was able to form the dough into 4 balls to refrigerate for an hour, but when I tried to knead and roll it, it crumbled into a huge mess. I tried to warm it in my hands, but the temperature wasn't the problem. There was still too much flour in the dough, and in no way could I roll it out well enough to cut shapes from it. Instead of throwing this mess in the garbage, I added more soft butter along with a bit of water, and was able to salvage the dough . Another egg/egg yolk may have helped bind it better too, but I didn't have any more eggs. With those changes, the cookies ended up pretty good, but they are not this recipe. One positive thing I can say is that I appreciated how mildly sweet the cookies turned out, as I don't like super sugary foods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emigh

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 851) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Award-Winning Soft Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake a top-rated chocolate chip cookie.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States