Soft Christmas Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
Excellent cookies and very beginner friendly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
I just tried a half batch of these. I've tried several cut out recipes that I didn't care for too much. I did change a couple of things: I used salted butter instead of margarine, I used powdered sugar instead of granulated and I split the vanilla extract with some almond extract as well. I also reduced the oven temp to 375 and baked for 8 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wick of Twizt

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tecumseh, Michigan, USA
Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
I loved this recipe, my family and friends really enjoyed them. I used butter instead of margarine and they were fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
Followed the advice of other reviewers and used 3 cups of flour, 1 cup of granulated sugar and 1 cup of confectioners sugar. These cookies were not very "sweet" like sugar cookies I've made in the past and probably will not be using this recipe again next year...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mhodge21

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira, New York, USA
Living In: Bangor, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
Tasted like a turd
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
Just love. Followed recommendations to roll in confectioners sugar and replaced half white sugar with brown sugar. Also added some honey to the mix. Made them a couple of times. Always a big hit. I use my kids small play-doh toy cookie cutters amd made about 70 cookies for my daughters Christmas party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
Yum Yum Yum! Soft when you take them out early enough, and didn't distort with baking! I used 3 1/4 cups for dough then a lot to to keep it from sticking while rolling out. Baked 8 min at 375! This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alanna Groen
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
Horrible! The dough was a pain in the butt to roll out and shape. When in the oven within the minute, they had completely lost their shape and melted into a thin loaf. Don't use this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Evan Phillips

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
I followed the recommended advice of 3 cups of flour, reduced the cooking temp to 350 and used butter. I bake for 6 minutes, rotate and bake for 2 more minutes. This makes the best sugar cookies I've had. I'm still working on finding the perfect frosting. They are good without frosting, but I love frosted sugar cookies. My co-workers now insist that I make these for pot-luck days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
I think the dough for these wonderful cookies would be very difficult to make without a stand mixer, or a good strong will and some major elbow grease. Almost all of the negative reviews complain that the dough is too dry or there is too much flour, however the large quantity of flour is essential to get a dense, soft cookie like the Lofthouse cookies at the store. You have to really work it to get all the dry ingredients incorporated (hence the importance of a stand mixer). The dough is very stiff. Before you stick it the fridge to chill, work it into a single ball/mass. Note: your cookies will turn out and taste fine if you substitute butter for the margarine or shortening, but the butter will cause them to be crisper. All things considered,this is hands-down the best, simplest, and easiest to manipulate cutout cookie recipe I have ever tried, and I have tried a lot. I used half butter and half shortening and chilled the dough overnight. I rolled them out directly onto parchment paper so I didn't have to add much additional flour at all, and I baked them in a convection oven for 7 minutes exactly. Beautiful, dense, soft, pale, sugar cookie perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bar Harbor, Maine, USA
Living In: Atlantic Beach, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 860) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States