Soft Christmas Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
These cookies were ok. I thought they would be a little better... after reading reviews. They actually taste better when they are cooked just a little longer but of course, then they are not soft! (not burnt but just not soft)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ajax, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
If you're looking for sugar cookies that are great for cut-outs (i.e. keep their shape) AND stay soft, these are them. The only thing I changed was to use butter instead of margarine and I only used 3 1/4 cups of flour. I did not use ANY additional flour for rolling the dough. Immediately after mixing the dough, I divided it into two chunks and rolled out each chunk between two pieces of wax paper (easy clean-up and no additional flour). I put the rolled discs of dough, still in the wax paper, in the fridge to chill overnight and cut out the next morning. I baked at 350 for 10 minutes and took the cookies out of the oven before they looked "done." I let them continue cooking on the cookie sheet for about 2 more minutes, and then transferred the cookies onto cooling racks. They were wonderfully soft, kept their shape, and didn't taste too flour-y. This will be my go-to sugar cookie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
The first time I made this recipe, I was not blown away. I would have given it a 3 star review… However, I followed the suggestions of a few other reviewers, make a few tweaks and tried it again… VOILA! 5 stars! 1- melt the butter before mixing with the sugar. 2- 3 cups of flour only. 3- bake for exactly 9 minutes. This results in a cookie that doesn't expand/puff up too much while baking, and retains the shape of your cookie cutter. The cookies, even 3 days later are firm.. yet soft & chewy and not at all crunchy or brittle. LOVE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tamboden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
the dough was dry and crumbley, good flavor but hard to work with, will not use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by connie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
I just wanted to say Thank you for the AMAZING sugar cookie recipe! This is the first year ive ever been able to make cut out x-mas sugar cookies with my kids! Last year I tried with a different recipe and the dough was a disaster so sticky and such a mess than I put to much flour to get sticky off dough and it got too thick.ya it was a nightmare! I thought I would try it again and I found this recipe after searching and gave it a try and WOW it worked!!!! Dough that was perfect NOT sticky and was wonderful to roll out. The x-mas cookies are turning out beautifully and its all Thanks to your amazing recipe I now have a go to sugar cookie recipe that I can use to make cut outs for all the holidays as its so fun to decorate them! Thank you so much! I did follow some of the other's suggestions and only used 3 cups of flour and I used 2 cups of sugar and baked them at 350% instead of 400% and by the way these cookies cook SUPER FAST only about 5 min at most they will be very pale in color and still soft but take them out and leave on cookie sheet for 1 minute then move to cooling rack and they harden and are perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
As suggested, use 3 cups flour in dough + 1/2 cup to roll. I used 1/4 margarine and 3/4 butter as it's what I had on hand. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minerva, Ohio, USA
Living In: Rouen, Haute-Normandie, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Brandi Jean Smith
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
This recipe is perfect for frosted cookies! The dough is nice, and it holds its shape perfectly! The cookies are not very sweet, but I think that works perfectly for putting frosting on them so you don't get a sweetness overload. I love the texture of these, they are soft and chewy and amazing! I will definitely be using this recipe ALOT! Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandi Jean Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
Love these cookies! Turned our great! Really easy to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
These tasted like Nilla Wafers, I did not like them. The only thing I did differently was that I used butter because I didn't have marg. Not sure if that could be the culprit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
Absolutely perfect! I followed the suggestions and used butter instead of margarine and used 3 cups of flour. I also baked it at 350 degrees in stead of 400 for about 10 minutes. There were no problems rolling them out or using the cookie cutters. These cookies were soft and chewy and melt in your mouth! They were gone in one day. I made them with the Sugar Cookie Icing recipe on this site, and they were great! Also tastes great with some colored sugar sprinkled on the top before you bake. I will definitely use this recipe again...and again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 877) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States