Soft Christmas Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Photo by Neko
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
Tried this with the suggested modifications (butter instead of margarine, only 3 cups of flour). The cookies tasted great and stayed soft even after cooling. As the dough warmed up though, the cookies made from the warmer dough became puffy, so watch out for that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
Substituted real butter for margarine. Convection bake 350F for 7 minutes. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heathins

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
Followed recipe and made the minor adjustments using only 3 cups flour, using butter instead marg and used icing sugar to roll out. 350 for 10 mins. Never tasted sugar cookies before as I live in Ireland but they taste lovely. Only problem I found was my bigger snowmen ones broke when I lifted from the tray. The smaller ones retained their shape. Going to ice them now with the recipe from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
My version is not for someone looking for a cookie recipe to decorate and ice, BUT it does taste GREAT and the texture is GREAT.......I took everyone's advice and used 3 cups flour and used self rising flour instead of all purpose,powder & salt. I also used almond instead of vanilla flavor.....I put in the fridge for about 30 minutes on parch paper sprinkled with powder sugar. I didnt have any problem rolling them out. I baked mine for 7 minutes. As they were baking they puffed up and out really big where you could not make out my shapes that I had cut, then they fell flat right before I took them out of the oven....They were very light, chewy and tasted GREAT.....It wasnt the receipe I was looking for since the cookie shapes I did(trees, santa, snow flake,etc) were so distorted that it wouldnt look good iced. But I will use these anyway and just do circles or squares and sprinkle with colored sugar before I bake. .....Well maybe one day I will find a sugar cookie recipe that I can use all my new cookie cutters on...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
After reading the reviews, I decided to try this recipe and it is my new favorite rolled sugar cookie recipe, replacing my old favorite of 30 years!! I took the suggestion of using melted butter rather than the margarine, and reduced the flour to 3 1/2 cups. The dough, after chilling, rolled like a dream and I didn't have to swear even once! The baked cookies held their shapes well and were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
If you like a less sweet cookie you will like these. Great for a little something with a woody red wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carber1

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
Just finish baking it and it turned delicious, i do some changes base on some peoples advice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
Great recipe! Easy to make. My daughter & I made a bunch to give away and they were so easy to make up. We did cut the flour to 1 cup, used melted butter and chilled the dough. It was so easy to handle. Also substituted the vanilla with almond extract and they tasted wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
I did make the recipe following the adjustments made my others of reducing the amount of flour and melting the butter. These sugar cookies are by far the best I've ever made. Thanks for sharing both the recipe and the suggestions! This will be my "go to" sugar cookie recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
These cookies are awesome. There were very soft and moist. I followed the modifications and they turned out great. I carried the cookies to work and everybody loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 879) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States