Soft Chocolate Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
I followed the recipe as written, but made a few different variations. I made a few as written, made a few into balls and rolled in granulated sugar before baking, added raspberry extract to some and put an indent in some and filled with raspberry jam. The cookies with the raspberry jam were our absolute favorite, followed closely by the raspberry extract -- next time I make them I will try some different variations, such as peanut butter chips, chocolate chips, mint extract. This is an excellent versatile cookie! glad I made them today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
187 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hauppauge, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
Oh my. I can see already that Hubs is gonna eat himself sick on these (his gauge as to how good a cookie is) and my jeans will become just a little tighter. I had a plan for these cookies from the get-go and they fit what I had in mind PERFECTLY. I had leftover buttercream frosting from something else I made and since I had taken the time to tint it in a variety of colors I hated to just toss it (or mix it all together, add cocoa and make it chocolate frosting, a good "save" for this situation). I wanted to make a sandwich cookie but I needed something soft so the frosting wouldn't just squish out. I made the dough exactly as the recipe directed, then chilled it for an hour or so till somewhat firm. Rolled it into 1" balls, being very careful to make them all the same size. I flattened them just slightly and they baked perfectly at 8 minutes. These are soft, buttery and chocolatey, exquisitely homey and old-fashioned good. Great on their own, no doubt about it....but filling them with almond buttercream? There are just no words. Excellent cookie, recipe perfect as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
134 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Luv2Harp
Reviewed: May 13, 2008
I thought these were great. They are very cake-like and soft as the name states. The batter looks like brownie mix and I was able to make the cookies just fine w/out rerigerating the batter first. They can be dropped onto the pan and then you can flatten them with your hand. The ones I made on my Silpat mat turned out perfect - came off easily & smooth bottoms. The ones on the Silicone mat kind of stuck to it and when they came off they looked like torn cake on the bottom. I'd recommend Silpat mat or perhaps a greased cookie sheet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
These cookies do not last an hour in this house!!!! I have made three batches in three days and took some to work and they didn't last an hour! I have people begging me for the recipe!!!! Taste just like warm brownies on a cold day! I am in LOVE with these cookies and can't say enough about them except you have GOT to make these!! There should be more ratings and reviews than these!! Deserves twenty stars in my book!! Thanks for the superb recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northglenn, Colorado, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
I folded in some Reese's peanut butter chips. My husband tells me that this is the cookie to make from now on. He says "These are like brownies, but cookies. They're officially the best cookies ever." He couldn't even wait for them to cool all the way before he started inhaling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baricat
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
If there's any such thing as the perfect chocolate cookie, this is it. Tender texture, with just the tiniest bit of chewiness, if removed from the oven at 8 minutes. Vivid chocolate flavor. I turned them into Chocolate Peppermint Blossom Christmas cookies by baking only 8 minutes, cooling them 3 minutes, then pressing a Hershey's Candy Cane Kiss in the middle. Then, sprinkled lightly with powdered sugar. Be sure to wait the 3 minutes, because if you don't, the kisses will melt completely and form a pool, which is OK, but it won't have that little peak that give blossom cookies their traditional eye-appeal. This is because the Candy Cane Kiss version has a much lower melting point than chocolate Kisses. This recipe lends itself to many variations. Add chocolate chips for a double chocolate version. Toffee bits are another great ad-in. Add a depression in the middle and put in a dab of seedless raspberry jam, then drizzle with melted white chocolate. Let your imagination run wild. This recipe can be embellished as you like, or make it just as written - they're flawless with no changes whatsoever!. A wonderful recipe that you'll make over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
These were easy to make; I had all ingredients on hand. Batter was pretty sticky, but I dropped by spoonfuls onto parchment paper-lined cookie sheet and they were fine. Very soft cookie, almost cake-like. Best to wait until they're completely cooled to eat them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrstko3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Colfax, Iowa, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
Absolutely wonderful. These cookies get raves from all of my friends. Fill with cream cheese icing and make your own Oreos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Penn Yan, New York, USA
Living In: Denver, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
These cookies are incredible! I followed the recipe exactly and then added the candy cane Hershey's kisses on top like peanut blossoms. The only thing I would add would be to leave the cookies on the cookie sheet for about 5 minutes so they can set up before removing them to a cooling rack. I will use this recipe often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Yummy brownie type cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 547) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States