Soft Chocolate Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Renee
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
Awesome cookies!! With a rich, chocolaty, brownie- like taste, these cookies are sure to please. I made these yesterday, adding 1 cup chocolate chips to the batter before chilling, and they turned out great. 1 inch balls make bite- size cookies, so I recommend making them bigger. They were exactly what I was looking for and I will definitely make this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Indiana, USA
Living In: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
I made these delicious cookies a few days ago and they are already gone! My family loved them! I didn't have quite as much cocoa as the recipe calls for so I just dumped in what I had, and it was plenty. I also added chocolate chips for extra panache. 8-10 minutes was just a tad too short baking time though (at least with my oven), so I left them in about 10-12 minutes or so, and the cookies ended up soft, chocolatey and delicious! I will definately make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
These are really good cookies! I was looking for something fast as my son was having a play date after school. I am trying to clean out my pantry as we are moving as well. I used part shortening for the butter about 1/3 c to finish it up, used brown sugar for the white, baking powder for the soda as I had Dutch processed cocoa not baking, I also added 1 tsp espresso powder. I chilled in the freezer for about 30 minutes, used my purple scoop and got 39 cookies, flattened with a glass dipped in sugar, 12 minutes on Silpat lined sheets was perfect. Slightly crunchy edges with a soft, cakey center, would definitely be great for whoopie pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 29, 2012
These are exactly as described - soft chocolate cookies. Not cakey though, if that's what you're looking for (I personally do not prefer a cakey cookie). I added a little more cocoa because I like a strong cocoa flavor (3/4 c. instead of 2/3) and added chocolate chips. Delicious. This will be my go-to chocolate cookie recipe and I'm glad I found it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah R

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
These were okay - I seem to have a problem with cookies falling flat no matter what I do and this was no exception. Easy to play with - some i made exactly as directed; others, I added coconut to, some with mini-m&m candies, some with toffee chips - all were nice. Nothing knock your socks off, but a good staple to have for when the grandkids come knocking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2012
Delicious, soft, simple! :-) Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Roland
Reviewed: May 24, 2012
Very good recipe!! These cookies have a soft "brownie like" texture. I followed the recipe as stated and did no adjustments. The only difference for me was a greased lined cookie sheet and I sprinkled a bit of granulated sugar on top of each ball prior to pressing so the fork would not stick. The only reason I did not give this recipe 5 stars was because the cookie dough even after refridgeration was a bit messy to work with. All in all, the results were definitley worth it!! Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roland

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Niles, Ohio, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2012
Perfect cookies! I was in a rush and did not refrigerate the dough and they came out great, sort of brownie-like. Can't wait to make them again and add peanut butter chips or peppermint crumbles or a million other things you could do with this basic recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
OK, I followed everything exactly, and read all the reviews that said these were great. NOT SO MUCH I chilled the dough, followed instructions exactly and these had no flavor at all. I didn't even finish baking them. I'm in search of a new chocolate cookie. Don't waste your time with this, they aren't worth it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2012
Excellent recipe. Perfect with no alterations, but very nice with one tsp vanilla and one tsp peppermint extract. The texture is excellent! To those of you having trouble with flat cookies, make sure you are: 1. Creaming butter and sugar well. This should take 5 min in a standing mixer, and your butter should be soft, but not melty. 2. Chilling your dough well. This dough is pretty easy to handle so it's tempting to skip, but cold dough will retain height better in the oven. Try it again! These cookies are fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 546) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States