Soft Chocolate Chip Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
The recipe is basically the same as the Toll House recipe with half butter and half shortening. For those that don't know - shortening allows these cookies to remain moist and chewy longer and not get too hard if baked a bit too long (like all-butter ones). Good recipe - it's what I've started to do with most cookie recipes calling for all butter, if I wanted them to come out a bit chewier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
224 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAIBREAK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2002
If follwed as written, this recipe is AWESOME! (I'm a little puzzled how people can change the recipe substantially by substituting ingredients, and expect the same quality in a recipe. Butter and real eggs are what make it good! Duh.) I have tried just about every 5 star chocolate chip cookie recipe on this site and this one is still the best!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
202 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2007
If I could give this recipe one thousand stars, I would. If you like bakery style, soft, pale, flat sinful cookies, then you better get ready. Suggestions: cream butter, vanilla, and sugars very well (3-5 min), use all butter (so, two sticks ROOM TEMP) and no shortening, and watch them like she says and take them out before they brown. My family had stars in their eyes while eating these! You can also freeze some to pull out later if you don't have a lot of people to gobble them up. BTW - people who said this cookie "wasn't soft" try the recipe again and follow the directions to the T. If you didn't get a soft cookie something went wrong..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
142 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by outnumbered
Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Flowery Branch, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2002
Excellent recipe! I love to bake and cook. I typically use the recipe found in my Betty Crocker cookbook. It's a decent recipe, but I wanted to find one that was better. I have tried *so* many recipes. I was always looking for an Entenmanns-tasting recipe. This one comes so close, but who cares...it's close enough. I'll never use another recipe. If you take them out just when the centers do not look "wet" anymore, they will be perfect. Tip: To keep them chewy, place them in a ziplock bag with a piece of bread. Change the bread as it starts to become stale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
Since I last posted about these "WONDERFUL" cookies. I started making these on my day off Wed. so now the kids in the neighborhood will call and ask are we having cookies this week? I even added some white chocolate chips, and mini chocolate chips, and peanut butter chips in these together. It also says something about not doubling the recipe. Well I changed mine to 48 servings in which I think is 12 dozen. I cook them for about 10 mins. and they turn out really chewy and little crunchy. But it can be done because I make LOTS for the kids around here. Thanks so for the recipe...and the kids thank you also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traycee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Emporia, Kansas, USA
Living In: Haskell, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2002
These were really, really good. Be sure to watch them in the oven, or they won't turn out as soft. But they are great either way!! The salt does need to be increased to 1/2 tsp, though. Otherwise, perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETTHING111

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2007
These are wonderful. These have definitely replaced my old regular recipe. I think these are even easier to make. The key is definitely to remove them from the oven before golden brown and let finish baking on cookie sheet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Urbana, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2007
These were great and were still nice and soft the next day. The dough freezes great as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Niss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Walnut Creek, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
I am not the best baker in the world and my biscuits never seem to work but I have my 4th batch in the oven now from trying this recipe for the first time. I do not agree that the cookies are not sweet enough, they are perfect. These are easy to make and I would sincerely recommend them.Most excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicky O

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2006
This recipe was exactly what I needed it to be. I was looking for a soft but sturdy chocolate chip cookie recipe to use for a stacked cookie cake, and this one fit the bill nicely. I successfully doubled the recipe with no problem. I used butter flavored shortening, and mini chocolate chips. Baked in 8" cake pans, stacked with icing and iced like a cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steph

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 728) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Award-Winning Soft Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake a top-rated chocolate chip cookie.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States