Soft Baked Custard Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
I really see-sawed between giving this custard four stars or five. It's five stars for ease of assembly and simple ingredients, but I think only four stars for taste (needs more sugar) and accuracy of directions (had to bake for nearly an hour). Still yummy and easy! I'll make it again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
I don't think I've ever given a rating this low. I'm not sure what went wrong but I followed this recipe exactly and ended up with two custards I couldn't eat. I didn't care for the taste and it never quite set up. I know others loved it, so it was apparently something I did, but I don't foresee myself wasting the time or ingredients to try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BELZILE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
I added a cup of canned pumpkin and it was so good. I have also made it plain, will try it with other fruits in the future. Very easy and turns out perfect every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luckyone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Felton, Delaware, USA
Living In: Bradley, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
Perfect proportions!!! Perfect sweetness. I love that it's 1 egg / 1 c milk. Easy to multiply! DELICIOUS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JulieBlair1979

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
The flavor of this custard was good but it separated into a watery layer and an egg layer as I cooked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Musik Mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
If you're looking for this to resemble the richness and density of Creme Brulee, you may be disappointed with this. While it was very good, I noticed a distinct difference between this baked custard made with milk and that, like Creme Brulee, made with heavy cream - I prefer the latter. That, however, is not a fault of the recipe because, obviously, this is NOT Creme Brulee. Why I'm rating it four stars rather than five is because it wasn't quite sweet enough. In hindsight, I think another tablespoon of sugar would have done the trick. Other than that, it baked up beautifully. The texture and consistency was quite nice, and just what I would expect. Watch baking time carefully, as mine was done at 30 minutes. The custard should just be starting to brown along the edges but still be a little jiggly in the center. Just as a matter of personal preference I used cinnamon rather than nutmeg, sprinkling it over the custard just before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
I absolutely LOVE egg custard... this is a quick easy recipe and will be repeater in our home throughout this holiday season.... just needs more sugar for our taste....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wiggins, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
Great basic recipe. Didn't have any milk so used 2 cans Thai Coconut Milk, and Splenda instead of sugar for diabetic reasons. Replaced Vanilla Extract with Coconut Extract and plain salt with Kosher Salt, (it's all I use besides Sea Salt). Came out great. Served with real whipped cream with Splenda Brown Sugar, gives the cream a different taste. I also use this kind of whipped cream on my Peach Cobblers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy R

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Renton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Michele
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
Recipe turned out perfect. I made this especially for my husband. Used Xylitol instead of sugar, we like it much better than Splenda. You can buy Xylitol at health food stores. The only grocery store that we found it at is Whole Foods. Used 1% milk. Was out of nutmeg so sprinkle cinnamon instead. Only used ½ teaspoon of vanilla. Baked 10 minutes longer. Thank you Mary for your great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
hmm. this was actually really easy to prepare... people said it was to soft or eggy, so i tried adding melted sugar to the bottom of the cups. to do this i just microwaved 1/2 a cup of sugar and some water until it was dark amber, because i like things bitter. and poured it till the bottom of the ramekins were covered. my cooking time took about an hour or more. it may be because i add caramel to it, or used 2% reduced fat milk.. but in the end it tasted great so i gave it 5 stars anyways :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SooPark

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Torrance, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States