Soft Apple Butter Delights Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
Made these and iced them with cream cheese frosting. Everyone love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
I made the batter exactly following the recipe. I baked this in a 9X13 cake pan and frosted with buttercream. Absolutely delicious! My husband said fantastic! I baked at 350 degrees for about 45 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Old Fashioned, soft and spicy. Not overly sweet in spite of all of the sugar. I followed the recipe exactly and everyone enjoyed the cookies. If I were to make these again, I would consider adding shredded apple or those dried fruit bits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denton, Texas, USA
Living In: Lewisville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
Not impressed. I made a half recipe. The only changes were some white sugar for the brown (didn't have enough), spicy tea for the coffee (used slightly more), raisins for the walnuts (plumped in the additional tea I used) and 1/4 cup more flour (to compensate for the extra liquid). I didn't have any major spreading or sticking issues (I greased my cookie sheets). I think the timing is a little off- start checking at 8 mins if you make TBspfuls of dough. These were cake-like with slightly crisp edges, though their flavour was bland and lacking. Not something I'd make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
I thought these were excellent. I have to admit, I was a little bit skeptical when my dough was finished. It was very loose - more like a thick batter. I refrigerated my dough overnight and it firmed up nicely. I'd suggest using parchment paper with these. They come off the sheet beautifully. I used a small cookie scoop which made perfectly uniform-sized round cookies. These do spread - you'd have to expect this with any dough that includes fruit puree or butters. The edges of the finished cookies are slightly chewy and the cookies are soft, as promised. We really enjoyed these. They were a nice was to use up some homemade apple butter. Thanks for a tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
I'm sorry but I can only give this two stars. The taste wasn't bad, but I lightly greased my cookie sheets and they still stuck like mad. Also, the cookies spread so thin they were almost like pancakes...so sad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Claridge, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ooltewah, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
This was a nice, soft cookie. Thought the apple butter flavor could have been a little more intense. But they were still very good. I, also, added a little powder sugar drizzle after they cooled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2005
This was a great way to get rid of some apple butter! The batter was very soft, and my cookies were a little flatter than I had hoped, but they tasted great. I only cooked them 8 minutes as 10 was too much, and this reciped yielded 13 dozen for me. I'm not sure I would lable this as nutritious, but certainly a great snack on a fall day. Not so great in the summer--I'll freeze them for some cooler weather.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

How to Make All-Day Apple Butter

Let your slow cooker make this irresistible apple butter for you.

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States