Soft and Chewy Peanut Butter Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
I've been using this recipe for many years so I'm confident the recipe itself is reliable and very good. For those of you having trouble I can share my own misadventures and perhaps it will help. I tried cheating once and substituted Jif with a store brand peanut butter and I knew by the dough something was wrong because the dough was too wet and oily. The cookies spread too much and came out flat, crunchy, and oily. I went back to the store and made a second batch with Jif and that solved the problem. This dough is best when refrigerated overnight so the flour can thoroughly absorb the moisture. Different brands of butter have different levels of water content so I always use Land O' Lakes brand. Another ingredient that can ruin certain baked goods is the kind of sugar. Beet sugar can ruin a good cookie so use cane sugar. That applies to brown sugar as well. If you want a stronger peanut taste without adding more oil using peanut butter you can use your food processor and pulse a cup of salted, roasted peanuts until you have a bread crumb like consistency, and then gently fold them into your dough as your last step. Remember, butter is butter, and margarine is oil, so use real butter. I hope this helps and happy baking!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
wonderful! Keep dough in the fridge so the cookies don't go flat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
took a few tries, but i finally got it right...lol!!! It's best to add a lil more flour and a half cup of peanut butter...also let the finished batter sit in the fridge for an hour or more...parchment paper worked great! very soft and chewy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
Loved this recipe! They are the softest and chewiest. Not sure why others are having a problem with it...perhaps the altitude or perhaps it was because I mixed everything with a fork instead of a mixer? Granted, when baking, they will puff up, but right before they are ready to come out they seem to flatten back into a normal cookie shape. Everyone loved them! I'm keeping this one for the books. Thanks! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
Bad combination. Couldn't fix it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Laguna Niguel, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
I took the advice of most and only used 1 cup of brown and white sugars and added 1/2 a cup more flour and 1/4 cup more peanut butter. These cookies were awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
Great recipe. I did have to alter the amount of time it takes to cook them. I followed the advice of one of the other reviews and shortened the time to 15 min. When I cooked them at even 18 min. they were way too dark and crunchy instead of chewy. Otherwise, very tasty treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
Tasted great! Easy to bake, just not very pretty, kinda flat. BUT GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fulton, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
I won't make this recipe again, as the cookies were paper thin. They are soft and chewy, just as the name implies, but they have too much sugar for my liking and I prefer cookies that have a little more substance to them! I followed the recipe exactly, with the exception of flattening them with a fork before baking them - this step is not necessary, as they flatten out all by themselves. I easily got 6 dozen cookies, not the 3 dozen the recipes states it makes. I will keep looking for that "perfect" chewy peanut butter cookie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
I did not enjoy this recipe. To start off with, I doubled the recipe because I was looking for more than 3 dozen cookies. I ended up with over 130 cookies. At 18 minutes baking time, the cookies were dark and crisp all the way through so I did modify the baking time going forward. They have a peanut-buttery taste that is somewhat overpowered by the sweetness. It's not the worst peanut butter cookie I've ever eaten but it is far from the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 358) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make yummy gluten-free peanut butter cookies.

Gluten-Free Peanut Butter Cookies

These 5-star cookies have big peanutty taste and zero gluten.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States