Sofrito Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2003
This almost the one, except you don't add tomato until find out if you need it in the recipe. We've solved this by making one of each. It can be placed in small containes, labelled and frozen until ready for use
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2004
SOME OF THESE INGREDIENTS I DID NOT HAVE ON HAND, SO I OMITTED THEM. IT STILL TURNED OUT AWSOME! (- RED PEPPER, - AJIES DULCES, - RECAO OR CULANTRO) I THINK THESE ITEMS WERE MEANT TO BE SUBSTITUTES IF YOU READ TOWARDS THE BOTTOM OF THE RECIPE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2006
My aunt owns a Puerto Rican store where she makes homemade sofrito to sell. The ingrdients posted are the same as hers and maybe not exactly like hers but it is AWESOME! Anyone who cooks with store bought jarred sofrito will be blown away by the homemade stuff. I absolutely refuse to buy the processed stuff anymore. I am very happy to see this recipe on this site!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
222 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Valparaiso, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2006
This is such an important seasoning...it's the stuff that makes you wonder "what is that taste?" It's soooo good! The only difference between this recipe and mine is that I don't use green bell pepper, instead I use Cubanelle peppers (I've also seen them called Italian peppers or Italian Frying Peppers). It's a long light green pepper and it's got a much better flavor than green bell pepper. I also don't add salt and pepper (I add those when I actually cook with it). If you don't want red bell pepper or tomato...leave them out and what you have left is a mixture called "Recaito"...I use recaito when I make habichuelas (bean stew). I have very picky friends and relatives but whenever I make my arroz con gandules (yellow rice with pigeon peas) or arroz con maiz (yellow rice with sweet corn)....they have 2 or 3 servings, and what makes them taste so good is sofrito baby! USE IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
189 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2005
This is it! This is really the stuff! It is a little differant that I am used to, but I am not sure what the differance is. I use Sofrito on EVERYTHING. I think it goes with everything, but perhaps that is because it is supposed to! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeAnna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
Very very simple to make. Took just minutes to finish this one. Strong cilantro flavor. I didn't have recao or ajies dulces, and used red tomatoes. This is really good stuff. Used it to make Habichuelas Guisadas and Carne Guisada III. Also wonderful with tortilla chips and as a condiment for a bowl of chili con carne (that's what my teenager did). Mine didn't turn out with that beautiful green color in the picture by latina cook, but the flavor was out of this world! A keeper.... Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Photo by LatinaCook
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2006
Woohoo! No more Goya sofrito for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
Excellent! Came out perfect! This is the real deal! My local latin market was out of ajies dulces-so I used red peppers instead. Made the difference with my habiculeas rojas!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dobbs Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Bridgewater, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
there is nothing like homemade sofrito just the smell of it when i add it to my food is insane. store bought sofrito is BAH!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pookieschmoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aguadilla, Aguadilla, Puerto Rico
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2006
Just an idea to save time when cooking. I make my sofrito in bulk and I freeze it in ice cube trays. I have trays dedicated to do just this. Once they are frozen I bag them and keep them in the freezer. When ready to cook I pull out one or two cubes (each cube should be about one tablespoon). Freezing it will preserve the flavor and it will last longer. I learned this from my mother and it really works well. When I make my bulk I share with my daughters and they do the same with it. I don't add salt to the sofrito recipe until I am ready to cook. Happy cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
205 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Roasted Veggie Pasta

See how to make a healthy, rustic Italian-inspired pasta.

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

How to Make Harissa

See how to make Chef John’s all-time favorite hot sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States