Sofrito Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
I Love Love LOVE Sofrito in my food. My husband is not Puerto Rican and gets a little overwhelmed especially since I use a little more garlic in mine. I also season in with Adobo not salt and pepper. I love the taste of adobo and since I season most of my food with it anyway I just add it to my sofrito. I love it in black beans ESPECIALLY! I don't use the culantro or red pepper. I just use onion, green pepper, garlic, cilantro and sometimes in a blue moon, I spice it up with a jalapeno or serano. Great classic recipe...makes the house smell...happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
Very good. I made this sofrito several times with or without ajies dulces or recao, I changed the proportions and it came good all time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
I made this last night and I haven't felt so "Puerto Rican" in a long time...lol! I did omit the tomato's...i remember my mom never put tomato in it and didn't find the aji dulce so I used the italian peppers. It smelled so good in the house. I loved it. I froze some in an ice cube tray and put the rest in containers. THANK YOU!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
Delicious! The kitchen smelled wonderful while I was preparing this. I opened up a jar of store-bought sofrito just to compare the aroma~ the homemade stuff smelled incredible next to the jar. I used this in Fivebrigs recipe for habichuelas and puerto rican rice. Excellent!***a quick update. I just used some of the sofrito that I froze, and i do not find the flavor nearly as robust as the fresh!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Republic, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
i'M NOT A BIG FAN OF PUERTO RICAN SOFRITO PUT THIS IS OKAY. THIS PR SOFRITO DOES NOT LOOK GOOD(GREEN) BUT IT TASE BETTER THAN IT LOOKS. .i AM LOOKING FOR A 5 STAR SOFRITO LIKE MY BEST FRIEND MAMA (MARRGO) JUST MAKE. I REALLY MISS HER AND HER COOKING
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
This is a very good puerto rican sofrito. Wish I could fine a cuban sofrito as good as this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2007
I loved this recipe. I am a NYer who grew up on spanish foods. So when I came across this recipe I tried it. My rice and beans thank you. Arroz con pollo me gusta even more LOL! I only gave it 4 stars because I added more garlic and used goya sazon con annatto(4packs).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Garvin-Owsley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Covington, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
there is nothing like homemade sofrito just the smell of it when i add it to my food is insane. store bought sofrito is BAH!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pookieschmoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aguadilla, Aguadilla, Puerto Rico
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
Very very simple to make. Took just minutes to finish this one. Strong cilantro flavor. I didn't have recao or ajies dulces, and used red tomatoes. This is really good stuff. Used it to make Habichuelas Guisadas and Carne Guisada III. Also wonderful with tortilla chips and as a condiment for a bowl of chili con carne (that's what my teenager did). Mine didn't turn out with that beautiful green color in the picture by latina cook, but the flavor was out of this world! A keeper.... Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
Excellent! Came out perfect! This is the real deal! My local latin market was out of ajies dulces-so I used red peppers instead. Made the difference with my habiculeas rojas!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dobbs Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Bridgewater, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Roasted Veggie Pasta

See how to make a healthy, rustic Italian-inspired pasta.

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

How to Make Harissa

See how to make Chef John’s all-time favorite hot sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States