Sofrito Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
this is how i do it except the tomato. no tomato if what your cooking calls for tomato flavor or color add no salt tomato sauce in the little cans. !!! que linda
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PhoenixMommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chamberlain, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Freeport, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
Would use less garlic next time, but otherwise I love the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
Good recipe, the best thing is that you can adapt it in any way basically- I added more cilantro and yellow bell peppers one batch, then the other had more garlic and tomato I beleive. This recipe is essential for any Latin dish/ dip, etc. if you want to produce a mouthwatering result!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tottiesyummies

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
Ahh the smell of making sofrito always takes me back when I was a little girl helping my mom cook. When I make sofrito, I think about making something that is all natural. I don't add salt or pepper to my sofrito. I add seasonings when I am preparing the meal. Also, I place my just made sofrito into ice cube trays. This way I can have pre-measured easy access everytime. Buy ice cube trays especially for sofrito. You don't want to use your everyday trays less you want your beverages tasting like cilantro. I fill the ice cube trays with the sofrito, wrap the trays tightly (you don't want your ice cream tasting like sofrito), freeze, pop out the frozen sofrito cubes and place then in a zip lock freezer bag.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
I make muine a little different. I use a can of tomato sauce, onion, cilantro garlic, salt, pepper, adobo, and sazon. thats basically it. It turns out delicious! Probably a little les traditional though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
Real puerto ricans dont use Cilantro, only Culantro. And no bell peppers. Use ajices dulces and ajitos
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
looks just like my dads sofrito
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rafael Hernandez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
This sofrito is so good! We use this in our Puero Rican beans and it tastes awesome. The flavor is great and really authentic. My husband worked in PR for a while and loves the food. We made the full batch and freezed it in ice cube trays as per the recommendation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisapetersen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hutchinson, Kansas, USA
Living In: Mission, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
I don't know why I didn't do this sooner, what a way to save veggies and herbs from going bad in the frig! I could not find the ajies dulces peppers or culantro, so I just used what I had on hand, threw in some fresh basil and a about a tsp of Adobo seasoning. I used this in Arroz con Gandules and froze the rest in freezer bags so I have them on hand when I don't have the time to chop up all those fresh veggies! This will be a staple in my recipe box now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
I loved how this came out, so much better than store bought. I think I will eliminate some of the tomatoe next time as it was a bit watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenn84

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Coral Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Roasted Veggie Pasta

See how to make a healthy, rustic Italian-inspired pasta.

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

How to Make Harissa

See how to make Chef John’s all-time favorite hot sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States