Sofrito Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2015
Fivebrigs, Thank you so much! I have only ever used bottled sofrito from the market. The stuff in the bottle should have another name. This sofrito is amazing! The fresh lively flavor is good on ANYthing! I cant eat scrambled eggs or beans without it anymore. I put in one serrano, as I like a bit of heat. I make it about 2x a week now and keep it on the table whenever we eat, it even has it's own bottle. Everyone who tries it absolutely loves it. Thanks for sharing a little bit of your home with mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2015
This recipe is great! Just remember that it varies between Caribbean families (I'm Dominican) and you're SUPPOSED TO change it to taste... Here is this weeks mix: I didn't use tomato. I added about 1/3 cup of Oregano, 1/3-1/2 cup of EVOO (extra virgin olive oil) I used red onions instead of yellow, some salt/pepper , and an extra head of garlic. I taste as I go and some weeks I feel like throwing in more of one thing over the other. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
Nothing better!! Thanks a million for this recipe! I freeze in ice trays and throw in 1 cube for every 2 people!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yorklyn, Delaware, USA
Living In: Smyrna, Delaware, USA
Photo by cz016m
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
This stuff is the key ingredient to Puerto Rican cooking. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cz016m

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Parma, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
It's nice to know acceptable substitutions. Not everyone has access to culantro and ajies dulces. There are real Puerto Ricans, nena, who use cilantro as well as culantro in their sofrito. This is a very good recipe. I like the Puerto Rican version of sofrito the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
If you have a food processor, it takes no time at all to make homemade fresh sofrito. This is simply delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
Awesome Fivebrigs, first sofrito I found non the internet that is like mine. Ive been making my own sofrito for years and this is so like mine. The only difference in mine is I dont add the salt as I add this when Im cooking, reason being I season my meats before I freeze them which has salt,sazon, adobo etc. Great job
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chichi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
I grew up in Central America and know sofrito well. My mom always added some achiote -steeped oil to hers. We had access to culantro but not the cilantro I see in the markets here in south Texas. It's fun to see how passionate people are about the style of sofrito from their particular country. To me, it's just no biggie if you use tomatoes or not, green peppers or red (how about a couple of jalapenos)! The kind I'm most familar with is probably Cuban. Throw in some diced ham while simmering and it's a wonderful pasta sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
Nena, my mom is a real, 100% Puerto Rican born and raised on the island. She uses green bell peppers, a whole head of garlic, one onion, and one bunch of CILANTRO and not culantro, because we can't find it here in Central Illinois. Everyone has their own way of making sofrito. Just use what you can find, and if you can't find all the stuff in this recipe, try my mom's way and your food'll taste just as good. :) Add sofrito to any ground meat that you're cooking along with some teriyaki sauce and adobo criollo seasoning if you can find it (look in a hispanic grocery store).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Farmington, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
I can't believe how deliciously good this stuff is! Preserving some cilantro was my goal when i found this recipe, and this wonderful condiment is so much more than just that. I used a dollop to make salsa with and it was the best salsa i've ever tasted. This is gonna be a staple in my kitchen from now on! Hurray!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitten Charm
Living In: Jensen Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Veggie Pasta

See how to make a healthy, rustic Italian-inspired pasta.

Grilled Corn Salad

Delicious summer salad with corn and vegetables.

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States